Welcome to the Design guide which highlights key resources and information in this subject area.
A few things Design students should be aware of:
Books are shelved over Floors 1-3, and all print journals can be found on Floor 3. If you want to browse, here are some key shelfmarks to get you started. Alternatively, to do a more thorough search, use the library search below.
| Subject | Shelfmark | Floor |
| Technology | T | 2 |
| Design principles | NK1510 | 2 |
| Product design | TS155.6 | 2 |
| Machine design | TJ230 | 2 |
The inventor's bible - how to market and license your brilliant ideas by 
Design and Digital Interfaces: Designing with Aesthetic and Ethical Awareness by 
25 concepts in modern architecture: a guide for visual thinkers by 
Material world : a substantial story of our past and future by 
Build : an unorthodox guide to making things worth making by 
Building for Hope by
This new book by Syrian architect Marwa al-Sabouni, seeks to understand how cities and buildings--scarred by conflict, blight, and pandemic--can be healed through design and urban mindfulness. When Marwa al-Sabouni published Battle for Home in 2016, she was a little-known architect, living in battle-ravaged Homs, Syria, unable to practice her profession. She turned her fierce intelligence to chronicling how her city and country were undone through decades of architectural mismanagement and mistakes. Once published, Marwa al-Sabouni's book and story attracted the attention of international media--CNN, The New York Times--and received critical acclaim worldwide. The United Nations called on her for insights and expertise. She became a TED fellow, was invited to speak to audiences around the world, and some suggested she be nominated for architecture's highest honor, the Pritzker Prize. Al-Sabouni's deep understanding of Middle Eastern heritage and architecture gives her insight into a wide range of cities, informing her views on how cities work best, how they might fail, and what can be done to harmonize the lives of all their inhabitants. In this compelling new book, al-Sabouni draws together several narratives: her personal and professional observations of some of the world's most fascinating cities, from Detroit to Helsinki; the lessons that Western societies might learn from Islamic culture and design; and philosophical reflections on how our personal and communal spaces can provide the basic foundations for happiness. Through this tapestry of personal experience, unblinking perspective, and insight, al-Sabouni offers real-world solutions--and hope--for how peace might be created through mindful urban planning.
The one device : the secret history of the iPhone by 
Future Autonomous Road Vehicles by
Brings together the key historical developments in autonomous road vehicle design and the key science fiction explorations of the design possibilities, identifying the major human-facing challenges - summarises the key methods of speculative design which can be used to explore the possibilities in relation to the future autonomous road vehicles and identify the single most promising speculative tool - provides a range of speculative explorations which highlight the key design challenges - groups the key design challenges into a small number of major themes which can be used as references and priority areas for autonomous road vehicle design going forward - provides psychological, sociological and ethical commentary in relation to the autonomous road vehicle design challenges.
Product Design and the Role of Representation by
1. Provides a clear taxonomy of design representations that designers can employ. 2. Contains pictorial examples of various representations. 3. Utilizes case studies of projects, examining their approach in terms of representation. 4. Uses simple, understandable terms and definitions to support understanding of representations. 5. Describes various media, methods and tools that are useful to design though representation.
Humans and Autonomous Vehicles by
This book provides an introduction to the Human Centred Design of autonomous vehicles for professionals and students. While rapid progress is being made in the field of autonomous road vehicles the majority of actions and the research address the technical challenges, with little attention to the physical, perceptual, cognitive and emotional needs of humans. This book fills a gap in the knowledge by providing an easily understandable introduction to the needs and desires of people in relation to autonomous vehicles.
Design for Sustainability by
Discusses the most significant ways in which design has been applied to sustainability challenges using an evolutionary perspective. It puts forward an innovation framework that is capable of coherently integrating multiple design for sustainability (DfS) approaches developed so far. The Open Access version of this book, available at https://www.taylorfrancis.com/books/9780429456510, has been made available under a Creative Commons Attribution-Non Commercial-No Derivatives 4.0 license.
Contact Sam
My office hours are 9am to 5pm,
Monday - Friday.
I am usually on campus three days each week.
Academic Liaison Librarians are available between 1pm-4pm, Monday to Friday term-time to discuss queries about using library resources and referencing.
Outside of these times, you can use the Library chat service and your query will be picked up by another member of Brunel Library staff or our friendly co-op support staff, who provide us with 24/7 chat coverage.
Our discovery tool, Library Search, will look for books, journal articles and more in one quick easy search - a great place to start your research. The results list also includes full-text links to subscribed content, like articles and textbooks.
To search Library 'Search all' you can use keywords relevant to your topic, author names or the title of the source.
For a more comprehensive search, individual databases offer greater functionality and give full access to a tailored suite of resources for your subject. To find out the database available in your subject, look for your programme in our Subject Guides, or you can view and access all our Databases alphabetically on the Databases A-Z webpage.
Search for books only (does not include all electronic books):
Search for full-text articles:
