LibGuides: Design: Databases

Recommended databases

Best bets
Recommended

British Standards Online This link opens in a new window
BSOL provides access to the full text of more than 55,000 British and adopted European and international standards.
Due to changes in security of the BSOL platform the FileOpen plug-in is required to access the PDF content on this platform please see here for instructions. please be aware that any sharing or reproduction of standards with any other body outside Brunel University subscription is prohibited by our terms and conditions.
Alternative link (if main link doesn't work)
Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window
Contains full text articles from over 2,300 journals covering all business disciplines. Also provides access to market research reports country reports, industry reports, company profiles and SWOT analyses on the Business Searching Interface.
Alternative link (if main link doesn't work)
IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new window
Provides access to all IEEE (Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers) transactions, journals, magazines and conference proceedings published since 1988, plus IEEE standards. Includes access to more than 1,200 e-books published by Wiley-IEEE and more than 690 e-books in the MIT Press eBooks Library Computing and Engineering Collection.
Alternative link (if main link doesn't work)
Mintel Reports This link opens in a new window
Mintel Reports provides access to market research reports and data on lifestyle trends including eating and drinking habits, clothing and footwear.
Alternative link (if main link doesn't work)

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Contains full text articles from over 5,800 journals, covering many subjects, including anthropology, politics, political science, psychology, psychiatry, sociology and social work. Coverage includes 450 magazines for news, current awareness and examples of professional practice.
Alternative link (if main link doesn't work)
Emerald Ejournals This link opens in a new window
Emerald journals provides access to articles from six major collections: Accounting, Finance & Economics, Business Management & Strategy, Human Resources, Learning & Organization Studies, Information & Knowledge Management, Marketing and Operations Logistics & Quality. It also contains content relevant to Engineering.
Alternative link (if main link doesn't work)
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Archive collections of full text electronic journals from 1880 onwards, always from volume 1, issue 1, and including previous and related titles. The most recently published issues (past 3-5 years) are not available in these collections (unless we hold a current subscription too). The Library subscribes to the Arts & Sciences I to IX collections, inclusive, and to the Health & General Sciences collection.
Alternative link (if main link doesn't work)
Passport This link opens in a new window
A global market information database, containing reports and statistics on industries (both consumer and B2B), markets, countries and consumers. You must register with your Brunel email address the first time you use the database. Passport works in multiple browsers, but access problems can usually be resolved by using Google Chrome. A comprehensive help section is available within the database. Also see the Market Research Library Guide for training recording by Brunel librarians on using Passport and other market research databases.
Alternative link (if main link does not work)
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Offers access to the Elsevier digital library, covering over 1,800 publications. Most are available in full text after 1995. The collection is updated daily.
Alternative link (if main link doesn't work)

Database search tips

Split your topic into keywords: To find better and more relevant results, think about your keywords. Make sure they accurately describe what you are looking for, and add more keywords to make your search more specific.

Think of alternative keywords: For example, 'young' could also be referred to as 'youth' or 'adolescent'. Or, think of the bigger picture. For example, instead of searching for 'boys' or 'girls', try searching for 'gender'.

Search for phrases in "double quotation marks": For example, "special educational needs". This will search for the phrase as a whole, instead of the individual words.

Select a data range: For example, you may only want literature published since 2010. Most databases have the option to select dates.

For more help see our Finding resources guide, or contact your Librarian.

Finding resources guide

Library service status

Current status of Library services

You can check the current status of services managed by Brunel Library below. To view the status of services managed by the Computer Centre, please visit their service status page.