Welcome to the Business and management Library Guide. This is intended for all students and researchers in Brunel Business School, and anyone else who finds the content of use. It is updated by Alice Cann, the Academic Liaison Librarian for Business.
This Overview page contains Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs), details about getting help and information on accessing print books. Look trhough the other tabs for links to relevant resources (Journal databases, E-book packages, Market Research databases, Data and Statistics databases, Referencing, LibSmart training and Recorded training.
Frequently Asked Questions:
Getting help researching and using Library resources:
If you're looking for print books, here are the key shelfmark areas for your subject. The floor information is for books; print journals are on the third floor.
|
Subject |
Shelfmark |
Floor |
|
Management |
HD30-HD70 |
1 |
|
Business research methods |
HD30.4 |
1 |
|
Logistics and supply chain management |
HD38.5-HD39.5 |
1 |
|
Globalisation |
HF1359-HF1613 |
1 |
|
Marketing |
HF5415 |
1 |
|
Work and employment |
HD4802-HD8971 |
1 |
|
Human resource management |
HF5549 |
1 |
|
Accounting |
HF5550-HF5695 |
1 |
|
Management of information systems |
T55-60 |
2 |
These videos were recorded in September 2024, to share with new and continuing Brunel Business School students and researchers:
These are recorded lectures on more varied topics, also of relevance to business students:
Our discovery tool, Library Search, will look for books, journal articles and more in one quick easy search - a great place to start your research. The results list also includes full-text links to subscribed content, like articles and textbooks.
To search Library 'Search all' you can use keywords relevant to your topic, author names or the title of the source.
For a more comprehensive search, individual databases offer greater functionality and give full access to a tailored suite of resources for your subject. To find out the database available in your subject, look for your programme in our Subject Guides, or you can view and access all our Databases alphabetically on the Databases A-Z webpage.
Search for books only (does not include all electronic books):
Search for full-text articles:
After the Virus by 
Cultural Industries and the Covid-19 Pandemic by
Already dealing with disruptive market forces, the Cultural and Creative Industries (CCIs) faced fundamental challenges resulting from the global health crisis, wrought by the COVID-19 pandemic. With catastrophic changes to cultural consumption, cultural organizations are dealing with short-, medium-, and long-term threats to livelihoods under lockdown. This book aims at filling the literature gap about the consequences of one of the hardest crises - COVID-19 - severely impacting all the fields of the CCIs. With a focus on European countries and taking into account the evolving and unstable context caused by the pandemic still in progress, this book investigates the first reactions and actual strategies of CCIs' actors, government bodies, and cultural institutions facing the COVID-19 crisis and the potential consequences of these emergency strategies for the future of the CCIs. Solutions adopted during the repeated lockdowns by CCIs' actors could originate new forms of cultural consumption and/or new innovative market strategies. This book brings together a constellation of contributors to analyze the cultural sector as it seeks to emerge from this existential challenge. The global perspectives presented in this book provide research-based evidence to understand and reflect on an unprecedented period, allowing reflective practitioners to learn and develop from a range of real-world cases. The book will also be of interest to researchers, academics, and students with a particular interest in the management of cultural and creative organizations and crisis management.
Data Feminism by
A new way of thinking about data science and data ethics that is informed by the ideas of intersectional feminism. Today, data science is a form of power. It has been used to expose injustice, improve health outcomes, and topple governments. But it has also been used to discriminate, police, and surveil. This potential for good, on the one hand, and harm, on the other, makes it essential to ask: Data science by whom? Data science for whom? Data science with whose interests in mind? The narratives around big data and data science are overwhelmingly white, male, and techno-heroic. In Data Feminism, Catherine D'Ignazio and Lauren Klein present a new way of thinking about data science and data ethics--one that is informed by intersectional feminist thought. Illustrating data feminism in action, D'Ignazio and Klein show how challenges to the male/female binary can help challenge other hierarchical (and empirically wrong) classification systems. They explain how, for example, an understanding of emotion can expand our ideas about effective data visualization, and how the concept of invisible labor can expose the significant human efforts required by our automated systems. And they show why the data never, ever "speak for themselves." Data Feminism offers strategies for data scientists seeking to learn how feminism can help them work toward justice, and for feminists who want to focus their efforts on the growing field of data science. But Data Feminism is about much more than gender. It is about power, about who has it and who doesn't, and about how those differentials of power can be challenged and changed.
Avoiding Data Pitfalls by
Avoid data blunders and create truly useful visualizations Avoiding Data Pitfalls is a reputation-saving handbook for those who work with data, designed to help you avoid the all-too-common blunders that occur in data analysis, visualization, and presentation. Plenty of data tools exist, along with plenty of books that tell you how to use them--but unless you truly understand how to work with data, each of these tools can ultimately mislead and cause costly mistakes. This book walks you step by step through the full data visualization process, from calculation and analysis through accurate, useful presentation. Common blunders are explored in depth to show you how they arise, how they have become so common, and how you can avoid them from the outset. Then and only then can you take advantage of the wealth of tools that are out there--in the hands of someone who knows what they're doing, the right tools can cut down on the time, labor, and myriad decisions that go into each and every data presentation. Workers in almost every industry are now commonly expected to effectively analyze and present data, even with little or no formal training. There are many pitfalls--some might say chasms--in the process, and no one wants to be the source of a data error that costs money or even lives. This book provides a full walk-through of the process to help you ensure a truly useful result. Delve into the "data-reality gap" that grows with our dependence on data Learn how the right tools can streamline the visualization process Avoid common mistakes in data analysis, visualization, and presentation Create and present clear, accurate, effective data visualizations To err is human, but in today's data-driven world, the stakes can be high and the mistakes costly. Don't rely on "catching" mistakes, avoid them from the outset with the expert instruction in Avoiding Data Pitfalls.
Super Pumped by
Backed by billions in venture capital dollars and led by Travis Kalanick, a brash and ambitious founder, Uber promised to revolutionize the way we move people and goods through the world. But in June 2017, Uber's hard-charging CEO was ousted in a boardroom coup that capped a brutal year for the transportation giant. What followed would become a corporate cautionary tale about the perils of startup culture and a vivid?example of how blind worship of startup founders can go wildly wrong.? Based on hundreds of interviews with current and former Uber employees, along with previously unpublished documents, Super Pumped presents a tale of the startup's dramatic rise and fall in an era of rapid upheaval in Silicon Valley
Leader's Guide to Mindfulness: how to use soft skills to get hard results by 
Business Research Methods by 
Positive Organizational Behaviour by 
Advances in Corporate Branding by Contact Alice
Hello, I'm Alice Cann, the subject librarian for business. I'm provide training on:
I work part time, currently Mondays and Tuesdays, and Wednesday mornings. I am unfortunately not able offer bookable appointments this term but please drop by the LibSmart Point Monday - Friday 1-4pm to see the librarian on duty. If another librarian, or your supervisor, thinks you need to see me then they will refer you on.
BlueSky is a fairly new, and expanding, social media platform. I'm trying out a work account to let people know about library things that might be relevant to business (and other) students and researchers at Brunel. Do set up an account and follow me if you're interested - ask questions too, about Brunel Library resources and services, and about BlueSky.
Academic Liaison Librarians are available between 1pm-4pm, Monday to Friday term-time to discuss queries about using library resources and referencing.
Outside of these times, you can use the Library chat service and your query will be picked up by another member of Brunel Library staff or our friendly co-op support staff, who provide us with 24/7 chat coverage.
Full details of all upcoming workshops can be accessed via the LibSmart Guide: