LibGuides: Design: Websites

Subject websites

Key resources
Website evaluation

British European Design Group
Since 1991 the British European Design Group has taken more than 5200 British companies, institutions and individuals in the creative industries to exhibit their products and skills in key export markets around the world and has accessed government and non-government funding for them to do so.
Design Museum
The Design Museum is one of the world’s leading museums devoted to contemporary design in every form from furniture to graphics, and architecture to industrial design. It is working to place design at the centre of contemporary culture.
Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)
Provides a directory of free, full text, quality controlled scientific and scholarly journals.
Espacenet
Worldwide patents database
Made in Brunel 2021
A collection of headline worthy projects from this year’s cohort.
Made in Brunel 2020
The catalogue of student projects for Made in Brunel Exhibition 2020.
Product Design & Development
Victoria and Albert Museum
The museum has always collected from the makers and designers of the day and its collection is a leading international resource that enables the Museum to pursue its original vision by making sense of the past, defining the contemporary and providing inspiration for the designers of the future.

Organisations

The Design Council
This website has lots of graphics and is visually appealing. You can browse the website or perform a keyword search using their search engine. It also offers links to related organisations' websites.
Design Research Society
The Design Research Society (DRS) is a learned society committed to promoting and developing design research.
Industrial Designers Society of America
Institution of Engineering Designers
Founded in 1945, the IED is the UK’s only professional body representing those working in the fields of Engineering and Technological Product Design.

Anyone can publish content on the internet, carefully evaluate free information according to the following criteria:

Accuracy: Can you verify the facts provided on this site? Is a methodology stated?

Authenticity: Consider the author’s credentials. Is it academic discussion? Who owns the site?

Objectivity: Are arguments presented fairly? Is the information biased in its presentation?

Coverage: Is adequate detail provided? Is the information too basic, too complex or irrelevant?

Currency: Is the information time sensitive? When was this website last updated?

Web search tips

Google Scholar. Try using this to limit your search to scholarly sources.

Google Advanced Search. You can search within a particular domain eg .gov.uk. This will limit your search to UK government publications.

Or, instead of searching the Internet, go directly to the source. We have selected some websites here that could be useful to your search.

"Double quotation marks". If you're searching for the title of a document or searching for a phrase, enclose your search in "double quotation marks".