LibGuides: Art Psychotherapy : Databases

Databases

We subscribe to over 170 databases and it helps to "deep dive" into individual ones in order to expand your research. The list below contains the databases most relevant to Art Psychotherapy but you can explore them all by going to the Databases A-Z.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Contains full text articles from over 5,000 journals, covering many subjects, including anthropology, politics, political science, psychology, psychiatry, sociology and social work.
Alternative link (if main link doesn't work)
APA PsycArticles This link opens in a new window
APA PsycArticles is a database of full-text articles from journals published by the American Psychological Association.
Alternative link (if main link doesn't work)
APA PsycInfo This link opens in a new window
Psychology and related topics; APA PsycInfo contains abstracts of articles from over 2,300 journals, dissertations and books, from 1872 to date. Over 50,000 references are added annually. Popular literature is excluded. This abstract only database is updated monthly. Abstract only means you will not always find the full text of an article within the database. However, you can use Article Linker in the article record to check for full text online sources in other Brunel databases.
Alternative link (if main link doesn't work)
Bloomsbury Fashion Central This link opens in a new window
Berg Fashion Library
Berg Fashion Library provides access to a diversity of resources including Berg encyclopaedia of world dresses, reference works, e-books, images, as well as museum directory and exhibition archives.
Bloomsbury Fashion Business Cases
Access to real-world cases on challenges facing the fashion business, such as sustainability, technology, ethics and leadership.
BMJ Journals This link opens in a new window
A collection of 22 leading medical journals on specialist clinical areas, public health and evidence-based medicine published BMJ Publishing Group Ltd. The Library reinstated the subscription to this database and access to current articles has been restored.
Alternative link (if main link doesn't work)
Cambridge Journals Online This link opens in a new window
Cambridge Journals Online provides full text access for over two hundred journals published by Cambridge University Press in the sciences, social sciences, and humanities. Also available: access to Cambridge Journals Digital Archive (bought by JISC Collections) comprising 171 journals.
Alternative link (if main link doesn't work)
CINAHL Plus This link opens in a new window
The expanded version of the CINAHL index, CINAHL Plus provides an even wider scope of nursing and allied health journals, as well as a higher number of records, full-text and cited references. Content includes additional allied health literature and biomedical resources and records date back to 1937. In addition, CINAHL Plus provides Evidence-Based Care Sheets and Quick Lessons which provide concise overviews of diseases and conditions and outline treatment options. Use Article Linker (AL) to check for full text online sources if none is available in CINAHL Plus.
Alternative link (if main link doesn't work)
Digital Theatre+ This link opens in a new window
Digital Theatre+ collaborates with theatre companies, industry associations, practitioners and scholars to provide access to a growing collection of full-length theatre productions and educational resources. The database contains recordings of hundreds of live captured performances across theatre, ballet, opera and classical music, including interviews with actors, directors, and backstage crew providing an insight into the workings of a theatre and what it takes to stage a play. It also features study guides accompanying curricula mapped plays, written by leading academics to help students get to grip with dramatic texts as well as relationship maps, plot summaries, theme and context analysis, glossaries and more.
Drama Online This link opens in a new window
Drama Online provides access to over 650 full-text plays by both new writers as well as established names in playwriting history. Search by playwright, genre or time period. Additional tools include ‘Character Grids’ showing which characters appear in what scenes and which lines they speak. This newly launched site contains primary and secondary content. The collection features the pre-eminent theatre lists of Methuen Drama, the Arden Shakespeare and Faber and Faber as well as production photos from the Victoria and Albert Museum and will be continually updated.
Alternative link (if main link doesn't work)
ERIC This link opens in a new window
Education Resources Information Center provides access to over 1.4 million bibliographic records with abstracts focused on US education, from 1966 to date. This abstract only database is updated monthly. Use Article Linker (AL) to check for full text online sources. This database moved to EBSCOhost from ProQuest in August 2014 - if you have any alerts running at ProQuest you should be able to access these but you will need to set up the same alerts at EBSCOhost to ensure continuity.
Alternative link (if main link doesn't work)
Ethnographic Video Online This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive collection of more than 1,000 films, complete with transcripts, studying human culture and behaviour throughout the world. It features the work of many of the most influential documentary filmmakers of the 20th century. You must use headphones when listening/viewing on PCs in the Library.
Alternative link (if main link doesn't work)
Nature Publishing Group Journals This link opens in a new window
Provides access to 13 Nature branded journals and Oncogene, covering subjects across the life, physical and applied sciences and, most recently, clinical medicine. Content encompasses daily news, expert opinion, practical methodology, and high impact research and reviews.
Alternative link (if main link doesn't work)
Oxford Academic Journals This link opens in a new window
The Oxford Academic journals collection includes some of the world's most highly cited and prestigious Oxford University Press journals, in a broad range of subject disciplines.
Alternative link (if main link doesn't work)
PubMed Central This link opens in a new window
US National Library of Medicine's digital archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature. This databases indexes millions of citations from scholarly health and medical research sources and offers a broad overview of the literature.
Try Europe PMC - an alternative version which indexes the full text source to assist with text mining. Personalised sign in is via one of several services such as ORCiD, Google,etc. For Medical Subject Headings (controlled language indexing), we recommend that you use Medline on Ovid.
Alternative link (if main link doesn't work)
SAGE Journals This link opens in a new window
Access to over 220 e-journals published in collections by Sage, with up to 59 years of backfiles where available. Access to more than 700 other journals from 1999 onwards for the titles not included in the collections. A multidisciplinary database, with particular emphasis on the social sciences.
Alternative link (if main link doesn't work)
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Offers access to the Elsevier digital library, covering over 1800 publications. Most are available in full text after 1995. The collection is updated daily.
Alternative link (if main link doesn't work)
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Scopus is the largest ever bibliographic database and indexes over 20,000 titles from science, technology, medicine and the social sciences. This abstract only database is updated daily so it is excellent for identifying the emerging research. Use Article Linker (AL - link to full text) to check for full text online sources.
Alternative link (if main link doesn't work)
Taylor & Francis Journals This link opens in a new window
Access to the full text articles of over 2,000 journals published by Taylor & Francis. Please note: a large selection of ebook titles are accessible on other platforms - please use Library Search to search for them (if you do not find the title you require use the Inter Library Loans service or contact your Subject Liaison Librarian for advice).
Alternative link (if main link doesn't work)
Teacher Reference Center This link opens in a new window
This index of over 280 titles from popular teacher and administrator trade journals, periodicals, and books is offered free via the EBSCOhost platform. This database provides coverage on key education topics such as assessment, continuing education, current pedagogical research, curriculum development, instructional media, language arts, literacy standards, science and mathematics, and more.
Alternative link (if main link doesn't work)
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Indexes journals and conference proceedings in the arts and humanities, social sciences, health, sciences and technology disciplines, providing abstracts to the majority, from 1970 to date. This abstract only database is updated weekly. Use Article Linker (AL) to check for full text online sources.
Alternative link (if main link doesn't work)
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
Full text of most journals published by Wiley. Incorporates Wiley InterScience and Blackwell Synergy.
Alternative link (if main link doesn't work)