LibGuides: Business and management: Recorded training

Recorded lectures for Business students

These videos were recorded in September 2024, to share with new and continuing Brunel Business School students and researchers:

1 Library Basics and Getting Help - New for Autumn 2024 The first of two videos on using the Brunel Library resources and services, intended for business students and researchers, but may be of relevance to others. Including content on: Finding and borrowing books Basic searching for online books and journal articles Reading Lists Subject Guides Getting Help, including FAQs, workshops and appointments and online training Referencing
2 Business specific resources - New for Autumn 2024 The second of two videos on using the Brunel Library resources and services, intended for business students and researchers, but may be of relevance to others. Including content on: E-book collections Journal databases Newspapers and magazines Market Research databases Data and statistics resources Case study and audiovisual resources

These are recorded lectures on more varied topics, also of relevance to business students:

Limiting your Business Source Premier search to high quality (e.g. CABS 3* and 4*) journals
Scopus and Citation Searching A demonstration of the database Scopus, showing how you can search for an article on Scopus and find other articles that cite this article, useful for finding more recent research and for evaluation. Also covering searching Related Documents; Keywords searching; Sorting results by Relevance and by Number of Citations; and Author profiles. Using an example relevant to Business and Management research, but may be of use more widely
Introduction to Systematic Literature Reviews - March 2024 Systematic Reviews are a type of literature review which are comprehensive and replicable, ensuring that all relevant research is considered for inclusion. This research method, which synthesises empirical research to build authority, originated in health and life sciences and has become increasingly popular in the social sciences, which the workshop this recording is from focused on. In this workshop we explored the key traits of systematic literature reviews, discussed the stages that make up good practice, and focused on planning, carrying out and reporting systematic searches. This included use of Library databases, and reference to relevant tools and guidelines.
Introduction to Systematic Literature Review - Part 1: Structure and Planning - June 2024 Systematic Reviews are a type of literature review which are comprehensive and replicable, ensuring that all relevant research is considered for inclusion. This research method, which synthesises empirical research to build authority, originated in health and life sciences and has become increasingly popular in the social sciences. In this first of two workshops, we explored the key traits of systematic literature reviews, discuss the stages that make up good practice, and focused on planning a review in preparation for a comprehensive literature search. This will included: - A look at good systematic reviews and reviews with significant problems - Discussion of frameworks and protocols - Exploring Library databases to understand effective searching - Scoping searches and development of keywords.
Introduction to Systematic Literature Review - Part 2: Searching, Screening and Reporting - June 2024 Systematic Reviews are a type of literature review which are comprehensive and replicable, ensuring that all relevant research is considered for inclusion. This research method, which synthesises empirical research to build authority, originated in health and life sciences and has become increasingly popular in the social sciences. In this second workshop we focused on the search strategy, screening and reporting. This will included: How to develop a search strategy, Practical use of databases to carry out and export searches and results, Identifying and appraising papers for inclusion in your review, Reporting your searches and decisions. Full text analysis, data extraction and systematic review tools were discussed briefly.
Referencing and Avoiding Plagiarism Live recording of a class for business students
Getting Started with Bloomberg
Bloomberg Excel add-in
Using Brunel databases to finding country/economic reports
Sourcing Secondary Data

Online Learning Resources

There are a range of Library Online Learning resources with guidance and, often, activities. These are available for access in Brightspace:

Library Welcome Guide
The Library Welcome Guide has been relaunched ready for the new academic year. Whether you are new to Brunel Library or simply need a refresher, our self-paced interactive guide takes you through everything you need to know to get the best out of your Library throughout your studies.
Referencing Guide
This resource will help you to understand the reasons for referencing in your work, choose when to cite and reference and learn how to cite and reference accurately. It will also help you to plan strategies to collect and maintain references and understand the tools that are available to help you to do this.
Understanding and Avoiding Plagiarism
This resource is designed to help you explore what plagiarism, and related academic misconduct, mean both in an academic context and in the wider world. It will equip you with the skills and knowledge to identify different types of plagiarism, so you can avoid it in your work, as well as providing guidance on improving your academic practice.

Systematic Literature Review

For more information on Systematic Literature Review, and these classes, along with links to specific sections, see the FAQ.

I am a business/social sciences student/researcher and want to use the Systematic Literature Review research method. How can I learn about this?

An edited recording of the Introduction to Systematic Literature Review Part 1: Structure and Planning class run in June 2024.

An edited recording of the Introduction to Systematic Literature Review Part 2: Searching, Screening and Reporting run in June 2024

Contact Alice

Contact Alice

Alice Cann

Send me an email

Follow me on BlueSky

Hello, I'm Alice Cann, the subject librarian for business. I'm provide training on:

Literature searching and systematic review
Searching for books and journal articles
Referencing (using Harvard) and avoiding plagiarism
Sourcing market research and secondary data (including Bloomberg)

I work part time, currently Mondays and Tuesdays, and Wednesday mornings. I am unfortunately not able offer bookable appointments this term but please drop by the LibSmart Point Monday - Friday 1-4pm to see the librarian on duty. If another librarian, or your supervisor, thinks you need to see me then they will refer you on.

Business Librarian updates on BlueSky

BlueSky is a fairly new, and expanding, social media platform. I'm trying out a work account to let people know about library things that might be relevant to business (and other) students and researchers at Brunel. Do set up an account and follow me if you're interested - ask questions too, about Brunel Library resources and services, and about BlueSky.