Business Source Premier is the database we recommend using first when researching in business and management subject areas as, with the combination of many full text journals and bibliographic details of other journals, it covers most important journals within this subject area.
For an overview and background of many business and management topics, with references to other relevant sources, search in the Oxford Handbooks Online: Business and Management Collection
Use abstract databases Scopus and Web of Knowledge to search within quality journals across many subject areas. This means that you may find relevant articles in journals in different subject areas.
These databases show references and citations for each article, meaning that you can follow a chain of research forward and backwards in time, finding other relevant articles and identifying highly cited articles.
Nexis is our newspaper database. It can be used for searching with local, national and international newspapers and magazines. However access to the Financial Times in Nexis is limited and you should therefore use FT.com.
Split your topic into keywords: To find better and fewer results, think about your keywords. Make sure they accurately describe what you are looking for, and add more keywords to make your search more specific.
Think of alternative keywords: For example, 'young' could also be referred to as 'youth' or 'adolescent'. Or, think of the bigger picture. For example, instead of searching for 'boys' or 'girls', try searching for 'gender'.
Search for phrases in "double quotation marks": For example, "special educational needs". This will search for the phrase as a whole, instead of the individual words.
Select a data range: For example, you may only want literature published since 2010. Most databases have the option to select dates.
For more help see our Finding resources guide, or contact your Librarian.