LibGuides: Games Design: Databases

Databases

We subscribe to over 170 databases and it helps to "deep dive" into individual ones in order to expand your research. The list below contains the databases most relevant to Games Design but you can explore them all by going to the Databases A-Z.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Contains full text articles from over 5,000 journals, covering many subjects, including anthropology, politics, political science, psychology, psychiatry, sociology and social work.
Alternative link (if main link doesn't work)
Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window
Contains full text articles from over 2,300 journals covering all business disciplines. Also provides access to market research reports country reports, industry reports, company profiles and SWOT analyses on the Business Searching Interface.
Alternative link (if main link doesn't work)
IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new window
Provides access to all IEEE (Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers) transactions, journals, magazines and conference proceedings published since 1988, plus IEEE standards. Includes access to more than 1,200 e-books published by Wiley-IEEE and more than 690 e-books in the MIT Press eBooks Library Computing and Engineering Collection. If you are unable to open IEEE Xplore with the link above, try the IEEE Xplore mirror site.
Alternative link (if main link doesn't work)
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Archive collections of full text electronic journals from 1880 onwards, always from volume 1, issue 1, and including previous and related titles. The most recently published issues (past 3-5 years) are not available in these collections (unless we hold a current subscription too). The Library subscribes only to the Arts & Sciences I to IX, inclusive, and the Health & General Sciences collections, as well as 19th Century British Pamphlets, a collection, created by RLUK (Research Libraries UK) and the Ireland collection (research materials relating to Ireland, spanning the 18th century to present, provided under the JISC Digitisation Programme). If you have any problem connecting to JSTOR off campus, please use the alternative link below.
Alternative link (if main link doesn't work)
Mintel Reports This link opens in a new window
Mintel Academic provides access to market research reports and data on lifestyle trends including eating and drinking habits, clothing and footwear.
Alternative link (if main link doesn't work)
Music and Performing Arts Online This link opens in a new window
The International Index to Music Periodicals and the International Index to Performing Arts have combined to allow simultaneous searching of both collections of full text journals and abstracts on the new ProQuest platform along with some other databases. Access to the original MPAO platform has been withdrawn.
Alternative link (if main link doesn't work)
O'Reilly Safari This link opens in a new window
Includes access to more than 35,000 book titles plus more than 30,000 hours of video within the information technology and computing subject area from O'Reilly Media Inc. and over 200 major IT publishing houses. Also provides access to proven learning paths, case studies, interactive tutorials, audio books, and videos from O’Reilly's global conferences.

If you cannot sign in using the link above, use the alternative link below and enter your Brunel email address to sign in via SSO.
Alternative link (if link above doesn't work - enter your Brunel email address to access Brunel Sign-In)
Passport This link opens in a new window
A global market information database, containing reports and statistics on industries (both consumer and B2B), markets, countries and consumers. You must register with your Brunel email address the first time you use the database. Passport works in multiple browsers, but access problems can usually be resolved by using Google Chrome. A comprehensive help section is available within the database. Also see the Market Research Library Guide< https://libguides.brunel.ac.uk/marketresearch > for training recording by Brunel librarians on using Passport and other market research databases.
Alternative link (if main link does not work)
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Project MUSE Humanities Collection provides full-text online access to 164 humanities, arts, and social science journals from 60 scholarly publishers as well as links to Project MUSE content from databases such as America: History and life, Historical abstracts and JSTOR.
Alternative link (if main link doesn't work)
ProQuest One Literature This link opens in a new window
ProQuest's One Literature database covers literature, language and the arts for literature scholars who need an exhaustive set of scholarly resources around a literary topic for research and course planning. It includes 500,000 primary works and millions of records from journals, monographs, and dissertations. Coverage is extended by the Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature (ABELL), as well as full text of primary texts, textbooks, works of poetry, drama and prose from the eighth century to the present day.
Alternative link (if main link doesn't work)
SAGE Journals This link opens in a new window
Access to over 220 e-journals published in collections by Sage, with up to 59 years of backfiles where available. Access to more than 700 other journals from 1999 onwards for the titles not included in the collections. A multidisciplinary database, with particular emphasis on the social sciences.
Alternative link (if main link doesn't work)
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Scopus is the largest ever bibliographic database and indexes over 20,000 titles from science, technology, medicine and the social sciences. This abstract only database is updated daily so it is excellent for identifying the emerging research. Use Article Linker (AL - link to full text) to check for full text online sources.
Alternative link (if main link doesn't work)
Taylor & Francis Journals This link opens in a new window
Access to the full text articles of over 2,000 journals published by Taylor & Francis. Please note: a large selection of ebook titles are accessible on other platforms - please use Library Search to search for them (if you do not find the title you require use the Inter Library Loans service or contact your Subject Liaison Librarian for advice).
Alternative link (if main link doesn't work)

Database search tips

Split your topic into keywords: To find better and fewer results, think about your keywords. Make sure they accurately describe what you are looking for, and add more keywords to make your search more specific.

Think of alternative keywords: For example, 'young' could also be referred to as 'youth' or 'adolescent'. Or, think of the bigger picture. For example, instead of searching for 'boys' or 'girls', try searching for 'gender'.

Search for phrases in "double quotation marks": For example, "special educational needs". This will search for the phrase as a whole, instead of the individual words.

Select a data range: For example, you may only want literature published since 2010. Most databases have the option to select dates.

For more help see our Finding resources guide, or contact your Librarian.

Finding resources guide