Economics and Finance: Overview

Welcome

Welcome to the Economics and Finance Library Guide. It is updated by Alice Cann, the Academic Liaison Librarian for Brunel Business School, including Economics, Finance and Accounting.. 

This Overview page contains Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs), details about getting help and information on accessing print books. Look though the other tabs for links to relevant resources (Journal databases, E-book packages, Data and Statistics databases, Referencing, LibSmart training and Recorded training.

Getting help researching and using Library resources:

  • Watch the range of training available via the recorded training tab.
  • Look through the Finding Resources Guide for advice on getting started with searching and use the comprehensive Help sections in individual databases.
  • Look out for Information Literacy, referencing and database training in your modules (if there aren't any, ask your module leader to invite Alice to speak at a lecture or organise a workshop).
  • Attend Information and digital literacy training in the LibSmart programme - classes will be a mixture of online and face to face.  Upcoming workshops are listed elsewhere on this page, or see the LibSmart guide for more details. Alice, your subject librarian, runs workshops on Citation Searching and Systematic Literature Review, and occasional Bloomberg workshops. There are many other great workshops run by other librarians.

To get you started, here are the key shelfmark areas for your subject. The floor information is for books; print journals will have the same shelfmark but all journals are on the third floor.

Subject Shelfmark Floor
Accounting HF5635-5636 1
Macroeconomics HB172.5 1
Microeconomics HB172 1
Banking HB192.7-336 1

Search Library resources

Our discovery tool, Library Search, will look for books, journal articles and more in one quick easy search - a great place to start your research. The results list also includes full-text links to subscribed content, like articles and textbooks. 

To search Library 'Search all' you can use keywords relevant to your topic, author names or the title of the source. 

 

For a more comprehensive search, individual databases offer greater functionality and give full access to a tailored suite of resources for your subject. To find out the database available in your subject, look for your programme in our Subject Guides, or you can view and access all our Databases alphabetically on the Databases A-Z webpage.

Search for books only (does not include all electronic books):

Search for full-text articles:



Advanced Search

Search or browse for journals/periodicals:

Journal title begins with


Browse periodicals by subject


Browse periodical titles

0-9 A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z Other

Featured resources

Contact Alice

Hello, I'm Alice Cann, the subject librarian for business. I'm provide training on:

  • Literature searching and systematic review
  • Searching for books and journal articles
  • Referencing (using Harvard) and avoiding plagiarism
  • Sourcing market research and secondary data (including Bloomberg)

 

LibSmart Point

Opening hours

Academic Liaison Librarians are available between 12pm-2pm, Monday to Friday term-time to discuss queries about using library resources and referencing.

Outside of these times, you can use the Library chat service and your query will be picked up by another member of Brunel Library staff or our friendly co-op support staff, who provide us with 24/7 chat coverage.