Data and Statistics: Bloomberg

Bloomberg is a global financial markets database providing economic and business news, analytics, real time pricing for over 5 million securities world-wide. It also includes extensive historical pricing and stock charts.

Bloomberg terminals (computers) are available in the Financial Resources Suite, BANN 230a. You will need an individual account to use the terminal. If you do not already have an account, you can create one at the terminal.

There is a booking system in place for use of the terminal. See the ‘Booking a Bloomberg terminal’ section on the right hand side for information on how to do this.

• A "getting started" guide has been created by Bloomberg and provides an overview of, and how to navigate and search, the resource.

• The Bloomberg Market Concepts e-learning programme, with certification, is a great way to learn to use the database - see the box below for details on how to access the BMC.
• In Bloomberg, type in HELP or BU (Bloomberg University) for access to resources which can help with learning to use the terminal.
• We will be relaunching our Bloomberg LibSmart workshops soon, over Zoom. Details will be in the box below.

Bloomberg have four available certification courses:

• Bloomberg Market Concepts (BMC)
• Environmental Social Governance (ESG)
• Bloomberg Finance Fundamentals (BFF)
• Bloomberg Spreadsheet Analysis (BQL)

These are useful for learning to use the database for specific purposes, and valuable for employability. Once you have completed a course, you will be able to download a certification, which you can include on your CV and LinkedIn profile.

Access

Bloomberg certifications are available through the Bloomberg Terminals on campus in BANN 230a (or contact your librarian for other options)

To get started:

• Log into a Bloomberg PC using your usual details, then double-click the green Bloomberg icon.  Click on 'Enter or Go to start' to see the login screen
• If you have already registered enter your username and password, otherwise choose the option for creating a new login
• Once you are logged in, type in the function code BCER and enter to get to a page where you can get more information and sign up, creating a Bloomberg for Education account with your Brunel email address

If you have any problems accessing certification or logging in to the Bloomberg Terminal, contact your Academic Liaison Librarian for help.

Bloomberg Market Concepts (BMC)

The BMC is a self-paced e-learning course that provides an interactive introduction to the financial markets. The course helps you learn to use Bloomberg through an exploration of financial market concepts.

The BMC has four core modules, which must be completed to get the certificate:

• Economic Indicators
• Currencies
• Fixed Income
• Equities

Four optional modules are also available:

• Terminal Basics
• Commodities
• Equity Options
• Portfolio Management

Environmental Social Governance (ESG)

'The Bloomberg ESG Certificate is a self-paced, interactive e-learning course that shows learners how to implement ESG strategies and prepare ESG reports for regulators through the lens of a fictitious buy-side asset management firm' (Bloomberg Finance, 2025).

The course contains the following modules:

• Introduction to ESG and Sustainable Finance
• Researching and Adopting ESG
• Negative Exclusionary Screening and Positive Screening
• ESG Integration - Fixed Income
• ESG Integration - Equities
• Corporate Governance and Shareholder Activism
• Reporting Sustainable Activities 

Bloomberg Finance Fundamentals (BFF)

'Bloomberg Finance Fundamentals (BFF) is a self-paced, interactive e-learning course that provides an introduction to the key concepts involved in finance and investment' (Bloomberg Finance, 2025)

The course contains four units:

• The Purpose of Investing
• Types of Investment
• Risk and Reward
• Portfolio Management

Bloomberg Spreadsheet Analysis

'Bloomberg Spreadsheet Analysis is a self-paced course that provides foundational skills in Bloomberg Query Language (BQL) and its practical application within Excel' (Bloomberg Finance, 2025)

The course contains four units:

• Introduction
• BQL for Macro
• BQL for Equities
• Bloomberg Spreadsheet Analysis

Bloomberg Finance (2025): the above course descriptions in quotation marks are from the Certifications section on the Bloomberg for Education website.

Getting Started with Bloomberg

An introduction to the financial markets database, covering: what’s available, booking a terminal and setting up an account, finding your way around, getting help. Including Equities (GP, FA, SPLC, EQS); Equity Indices (WEI); Industries (BI); Economics (ECST, BECO).

-

-

A redesigned Bloomberg Excel class is being planned for later in semester 1 (autumn 2025).

See below a Panopto recording demonstrating some of the content covered in previous Using Bloomberg with Excel class, though note that some recommendations have changed.

Bloomberg certification

An overview of Bloomberg Certification and learning options, including the Bloomberg Market Concepts (BMC) e-learning course, the Environmental Social Governmental (ESG) course, videos, webinars and case studies.

Covering how to access and work through the certifications, and how completing them can benefit employability, especially for those seeking careers in finance and investment. 

This session isn't scheduled for semester 1 (autumn 2025 yet).

The Financial Resource Suite is available during Library opening hours. You can book up to four hours a day, and a week in advance. Each session is an hour long. To book a terminal:

1. Go to the Booking rooms and resources page (also available by selecting Book Study Spaces under the search box on the Library homepage
2. Select Book a library seat or group study room
3. Click on the Search Spaces pull down arrow and select Financial Resources from the list.
4. Under the Category, select Bloomberg and click on Search.
5. The sessions are set in one-hour slots. Select your times and click on Submit Times.
6. Review the terms and conditions and select Continue
7. Check your details and then select Submit my booking

Please be aware that there will be times when the Bloomberg terminals will be unavailable to book due to planned teaching sessions.

1. By making a booking you are making a commitment to use the database at the confirmed time. If you no longer need to use a booking, cancel it via the link in the confirmation email.
2. Before you start using the terminal, you must confirm your session. Follow the instructions in the booking confirmation email sent to you. 
3. You can check in up to 30 minutes before your session starts. If you have not checked in 15 minutes after your session has started, your booking will be cancelled.
4. We will get in touch with people who regularly do not check in to ensure you understand the importance of making use of the booking system. 
5. At the end of your session, close down Bloomberg so that access is available for other people who have booked, or for use in classes.