LibGuides: Data and Statistics: Statistics

Statistics at Brunel

This page is intended to give people an overview of the main statistics that can be accessed from Brunel Library. It includes print resources, websites and specialist databases where applicable.

Most of the print resources will be housed in the Statistics collection which is on floor 3 of the Library, but some items may also be available on the main shelves.

Please note: this page is not intended to be a list of everything available; instead, it is an introduction to some of the resources you may find useful. For further help, please contact your Academic Liaison Librarian.

Statistics websites

Office of National Statistics
Browse by theme, e.g crime and justice, population and migration, transport, travel and tourism. Or search by key word, eg housing.
Government Data
Documents where you can find different types of government data.
General Register Office for Scotland
The Scottish equivalent of the Office for National Statistics. Search by keyword, use the drop down box or browse the Statistics section.
Northern Ireland Statistics and Research Agency
The Northern Irish version of the ONS
Welsh Statistics Directorate

United Nations Statistics Division
National Statistics Offices
Links to National Statistics websites for each country.

Statista This link opens in a new window
Statista is a leading provider of market and consumer data, covering 170 industries, more than 80,000 topics and a million plus statistics derived from more than 22,500 sources. Export statistics, infographics, publications and reports on areas such as brands, business plans, consumer, country, digital and trends, industry, politics and society.
Alternative link (if main link does not work)

Neighbourhood Statistics
Search area by post code, topic or create tables to combine areas and subjects to search.

Higher Education Statistics Authority
Includes university performance indicators and data about staff, doctoral researchers and students in UK universities.
Office of National Statistics: Education
Department for Business, Innovation and Skills
The Department for Business, Innovation & Skills (BIS) collects and publishes national and official statistics on further and higher education.
Department for Education

Gallup International
Public opinion polls on economic, social and political policy.
Eurobarometer
Transparency International UK
Ipsos MORI
MORI is the largest market and public opinion research agency in the UK. Contains political and social trends dating back at least 30 years.
YouGov
Global Public opinion site which surveys attitudes to public policy.

Office of National Statistics: Crime
Findings from the 2012/13 Crime Survey for England and Wales on public perceptions of the police, visibility of police officers on the street, and crime against children.
Home Office

NHS Economic Evaluation Database (EED)
NHS EED was produced by the Centre for Reviews and Dissemination (CRD) at the University of York, UK. until April 2015. EED assists decision-makers by systematically identifying economic evaluations from around the world, appraising their quality, and highlighting their relative strengths and weaknesses. The archive may be accessed on CRD until at least 2021.
OECD Health Database
Statistics on health and health care systems for 30 OECD countries, with some time series going back to 1960. Off campus users who have difficulty accessing this database via the link should first log in via the AnyConnect VPN Universal service package available from the Connect portal, and then use the following link to the OECD Health Database.
OHE Compendium of Health Statistics
Historical data spanning up to 50 years primarily for the UK, but also includes some international comparisons. No password is required for access.

Statistics books at Brunel

Population trends by HMSO
Call Number: HA1127.A1R43
Marriage, divorce and adoption statistics by HMSO
Call Number: HA1127.A1R4922
Mortality statistics by HMSO
Call Number: HA1127.A1R541
National population projections by HMSO
Call Number: HA1127.A1R623

Education statistics for the United Kingdom by HMSO
Call Number: L341.A3E43
Statistical bulletin - Department for Education and Employment by Department of Education and Science
Call Number: L341.A3S5
Statistics of education : School leavers, GCSE and GCE by D.E.S.
Call Number: L341.A3S74

Criminal statistics, England and Wales by HMSO
Call Number: HV6946.G73