LibGuides: Brunel Medical School: Websites

Subject websites

Anyone can publish content on the internet, carefully evaluate free information according to the following criteria:

Accuracy: Can you verify the facts provided on this site? Is a methodology stated?

Authenticity: Consider the author’s credentials. Is it academic discussion? Who owns the site?

Objectivity: Are arguments presented fairly? Is the information biased in its presentation?

Coverage: Is adequate detail provided? Is the information too basic, too complex or irrelevant?

Currency: Is the information time sensitive? When was this website last updated?

NICE Evidence
A digital library for NHS staff, patients and the public.It gives access to lots of useful electronic resources, databases and guidelines.
Growth House
Growth House, Inc., gives free access to over 4,000 pages of high-quality education materials about end-of-life care, palliative medicine, and hospice care, including the full text of several books. It provides education both for the general public and for health care professionals
National Center for Biotechnology Information
Gateway and database provided by the National Institutes for Health. Includes access to NCBI Bookshelf and PubMed Central
Social Care Online
A free online resource owned and managed by the Social Care Institute for Excellence (SCIE). It provides a single point of access to the UK's most extensive range of social care knowledge, including many health related resources.
Science research portal
A free, publicly available Internet web portal allowing access to numerous scientific journals and public science databases. Covers both comercial and free journal sources. DO NOT PAY for commercial sources - you may already have free access to it from the E-Journals Gateway.
Public Health England
Public Health England is a government organisation that provides health and wellbeing related information. On this site you can find data and statistics, information on public health campaigns, reports, and current awareness about health and social care.
NHS
The website of the National Health Services in the UK. Aimed at the general public it contains information on health news, conditions, symptoms, treatments and medicines, and general advice and guidance.

Royal College of Occupational Therapists
The Royal College of Occupational Therapists is the professional body for occupational therapy staff in the UK
OT Direct
OTdirect is an independent site for Occupational Therapists, OT Assistants and OT students. Includes study guides.
OT Seeker
A specialist evidence-based database for Occupational therapy

Chartered Society of Physiotherapy
The Chartered Society of Physiotherapy (CSP) is the professional, educational and trade union body for the UK's physiotherapists and physiotherapy students.
Centre for Evidence Based Physiotherapy
A specialist evidence-based database for physiotherapy
PEDro
PEDro is the Physiotherapy Evidence Database. It gives access to bibliographic details and abstracts of randomised controlled trials, systematic reviews and evidence-based clinical practice guidelines in physiotherapy.

Nexis This link opens in a new window
Nexis Advance UK provides access to full text access to regional, national and international newspapers, business trade journals, company reports and country reports. (The New platform for Nexis UK was launched on 5 September 2019. This database was previously called LexisNexis Business and News). Lexis Advance also provides full text access to international cases, legislation and journals and some news from Australia, Canada, Hong Kong, Malaysia, New Zealand and United States of America.
Alternative link (if main link doesn't work)

Pulse
A trade journal aimed at supporting general practitioners (GPs) in the UK. The journal contains examples of professional practice in the healthcare sector, opinion and current awareness of health topics.

Web search tips

Google Scholar. Try using this to limit your search to scholarly sources.

Google Advanced Search. You can search within a particular domain eg .gov.uk. This will limit your search to UK government publications.

Or, instead of searching the Internet, go directly to the source. We have selected some websites here that could be useful to your search.

"Double quotation marks". If you're searching for the title of a document or searching for a phrase, enclose your search in "double quotation marks".