LibGuides: Psychology: Websites

Subject websites

Anyone can publish content on the internet, carefully evaluate free information according to the following criteria:

Accuracy: Can you verify the facts provided on this site? Is a methodology stated?

Authenticity: Consider the author’s credentials. Is it academic discussion? Who owns the site?

Objectivity: Are arguments presented fairly? Is the information biased in its presentation?

Coverage: Is adequate detail provided? Is the information too basic, too complex or irrelevant?

Currency: Is the information time sensitive? When was this website last updated?

British Academy Portal
British Academy directory of online resources in the humanities and social science, Includes pages on social anthropology and African and Oriental studies.
Psych Web
Contains information for students and lecturers, including links to relevant resources and quizzes.
Social Psychology Network
An American based web site, from the University of Southern Indiana, which includes information on popular research, perspectives and social psychological theory.
MindEd
A new free educational resource offering online courses which has been developed by a consortium of organisations with money from the Department of Health. They include Royal College of Paediatrics and Child Health; Royal College of Psychiatrists; British Psychological Society; National Children's Bureau and YoungMinds. The emphasis is upon understanding mental health issues in relation to young people and children. There are courses on child development and psychology, counselling and supporting children.

British Psychological Society
The British Psychological Society is the representative body for psychology and psychologists in the UK.
New York Psychoanalytic Society & Institute
The oldest psychoanalytic society in the United States. Its primary purpose has been the development and teaching of a deep understanding of the human mind.
American Psychological Association
The official website for the APA.

Psychology tools

A range of scales and questionnaires provided from validated psychology research

Psychological Assessment Tools For Mental Health

Information about some available scales and questionnaires for clinicians and health professionals. NB. Not all these scales are available in full.

Educational Testing Service (ETS) Test Collection

Approx. 25,000 tests are indexed with information on availability. Tests are principally from North America, but there are also some tests from the UK and Australia. NB. This site is for finding out about the availability of the test, and may often lead to commercial providers.

Psychological Tests for student use

This website has a small number of test that have been uploaded for student use with the authors permission.

Online personality tests

This website provides a collection of interactive personality tests with detailed results that can be taken for personal entertainment or to learn more about personality assessment. These tests range from very serious and widely used scientific instruments popular psychology and self produced quizzes. A special focus is given to the strengths, weaknesses and validity of the various systems.
Psych Web tests

These free tests are range from self-diagnostic psychiatric screening tests to academic research projects gathering data online.
Self-report measures

All of these scales are being made available here for use in research and teaching applications. All are available without charge and without any need for permission. Download or print them from the linked pages.
Positive Psychology Measures

Penn State's Positive Psychology Centre's page of questionnaires for researchers.

Assessment Psychology Online

A website containing information on assessment practices and containing some tests.

Search for "international personality item pool" and you should find plenty to choose from.

Web search tips

Google Scholar. Try using this to limit your search to scholarly sources.

Google Advanced Search. You can search within a particular domain eg .gov.uk. This will limit your search to UK government publications.

Or, instead of searching the Internet, go directly to the source. We have selected some websites here that could be useful to your search.

"Double quotation marks". If you're searching for the title of a document or searching for a phrase, enclose your search in "double quotation marks".