Harvard is one of the most commonly used referencing styles. We recommend you consult:
The Cite Them Right platform to find advice on the Cite Them Right Harvard style (12th edn). This website, available only via Brunel Library, offers advice on how to cite and reference in a variety of styles, as well as more general guidance on plagiarism and referencing. You can select Harvard as your referencing stye to find up-to-date examples of how to lay out and format sources such as articles, texts and website. The platform can also be accessed via the Library catalogue by searching 'Cite Them Right'.
Cite Them Right is also available as a book shelved at PN171.F56P43 2019 - Pear, R. and Shields, G. (2019) Cite them right. 11th edn. Basingstoke: Palgrave Macmillan. However, the advice on the web platform is current.
NOTE: Harvard has variations in style, so:
If your programme uses APA referencing we recommend you consult the appropriate American Psychological Association referencing manual:
For students who have started their studies before 2020:
American Psychological Society. (2010). Publication manual of the American Psychological Association
(6th ed). Washington DC: American Psychological Association
For students who have started their studies in or after 2020:
American Psychological Society. (2020). Publication manual of the American Psychological Association (7th ed). American Psychological Association.
For help with referencing in APA style contact the Academic Liaison Librarian for the Department of Life Sciences, Joanne McPhie at joanne.mcphie@brunel.ac.uk
Used by History and occasionally Politics. We recommend you consult:
University of Chicago Press, The Chicago Manual of Style. 17th ed. (Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 2017).
OSCOLA = Oxford Standard for Citation of Legal Authorities
Used by Brunel Law School and occasionally other law based modules within the university.
The OSCOLA quick reference guide can be found at: oscola_4th_edn_hart_2012quickreferenceguide.pdf (ox.ac.uk)
We recommend, however, you consult the main OSCOLA guide as detailed below:
The 8th edition of the MLA Handbook was published in April 2016. Copies are available in the Brunel library collection for you to consult. You should refer to your module guide and/or tutor as regards specific requirements.
IEEE = The Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers
There are many different referencing softwares designed to help you with your referencing. It is important to remember a few things:
RefWorks is web-based software for collating references and creating bibliographies, subscribed to by Brunel. Using RefWorks can help you manage your references more effectively, keep accurate records, and save you time when producing a bibliography for a dissertation, thesis, or paper.
Brunel's search tool, Summon, will convert your search results to a referencing style of your choice:
Note: these references are only stored temporarily. When you close the browser window, your references will be cleared.
Microsfoft Word has a referencing tool. It allows you to enter bibliographic information about the item you want to reference, and choose your referencing style, including APA 6th edition and Harvard.
Mendeley is a free reference manager and academic social network that can help you organize your research, collaborate with others online, and discover the latest research.
Zotero is a free tool to help you collect, organise, cite, and share your research sources.
Our LibAnswers system contains many FAQs on Library subjects, including referencing. Search our FAQs or see our links to some popular referencing ones.
There are a range of Library Online Learning resources with guidance and, often, activities. These are available for access in Brightspace:
Cite Them Right by 
MLA Handbook by 
Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association by
The Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, Seventh Edition is the official source for APA Style. With millions of copies sold worldwide in multiple languages, it is the style manual of choice for writers, researchers, editors, students, and educators in the social and behavioral sciences, natural sciences, nursing, communications, education, business, engineering, and other fields. Known for its authoritative, easy-to-use reference and citation system, the Publication Manual also offers guidance on choosing the headings, tables, figures, language, and tone that will result in powerful, concise, and elegant scholarly communication. It guides users through the scholarly writing process-from the ethics of authorship to reporting research through publication. The seventh edition is an indispensable resource for students and professionals to achieve excellence in writing and make an impact with their work. The seventh edition has been thoroughly revised and updated to reflect best practices in scholarly writing and publishing. All formats are in full color, with a new tabbed spiral version Improved ease of navigation, with many additional numbered sections to help users quickly locate answers to their questions Resources for students on writing and formatting annotated bibliographies, response papers, and other paper types as well as guidelines on citing course materials Dedicated chapter for new users of APA Style covering paper elements and format, including sample papers for both professional authors and student writers New chapter on journal article reporting standards that includes updates to reporting standards for quantitative research and the first-ever qualitative and mixed methods reporting standards in APA Style New chapter on bias-free language guidelines for writing about people with respect and inclusivity in areas including age, disability, gender, participation in research, race and ethnicity, sexual orientation, socioeconomic status, and intersectionality More than 100 new reference examples covering periodicals, books, audiovisual media, social media, webpages and websites, and legal resources More than 40 new sample tables and figures Expanded guidance on ethical writing and publishing practices, including how to ensure the appropriate level of citation, avoid plagiarism and self-plagiarism, and navigate the publication process Guidelines that support accessibility for all users, including simplified reference, in-text citation, and heading formats as well as additional font options