LibGuides: Education: Databases

Recommended databases

British Education Index This link opens in a new window
BEI is an index of British and selected European journals with more than 370,000 references to journal articles in the fields of educational policy and administration, evaluation and assessment, technology and special educational needs, from 1929 to date. This is an abstract only data. Use Article Linker (AL) to check for full text online sources.
Alternative link (if main link doesn't work)
ERIC This link opens in a new window
Education Resources Information Center provides access to over 1.9 million bibliographic records with abstracts focused on US education, from 1907 to date. This abstract only database is updated monthly. Use Article Linker (AL) to check for full text online sources.
Alternative link (if main link doesn't work)
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
This EBSCOhost research database provides access to full text content and abstracts from a comprehensive range of sociology journals, books, conferences and monographs.
Alternative link (if main link doesn't work)

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Contains full text articles from over 5,800 journals, covering many subjects, including anthropology, politics, political science, psychology, psychiatry, sociology and social work. Coverage includes 450 magazines for news, current awareness and examples of professional practice.
Alternative link (if main link doesn't work)
APA PsycArticles This link opens in a new window
APA PsycArticles is a database of full-text articles from just over 120 journals published by the American Psychological Association, the Canadian Psychological Association, Hogrefe Publishing Group and APA's Educational Publishing Foundation.
Alternative link (if main link doesn't work)
APA PsycInfo This link opens in a new window
A specialist psychology literature and related topics database, APA PsycInfo contains abstracts of articles from over 2,400 journals, dissertations and books. Popular literature is excluded. This abstract only database is updated twice weekly. Abstract only means you will not always find the full text of an article within the database. However, you can use Article Linker in the article record to check for full text online sources in other Brunel databases.
Alternative link (if main link doesn't work)
Learning on Screen This link opens in a new window
Learning on Screen is a charity whose aim is to make moving image and sound as important in education and research as the written word. This link provides information about their services, including BoB (Box of Broadcasts). The University subscribes to Box of Broadcasts (BoB), a service which works alongside our ERA Licence and allows staff and students to record and access broadcasts, even after they have aired, under the licence terms. Search for Brunel as your home institution. You may need to register and confirm your Brunel email address when you first access the new site. For service issues see the current service status webpage.
Alternative link (if main link doesn't work)
Child Development and Adolescent Studies This link opens in a new window
Child Development & Adolescent Studies provides references to the current and historical literature related to growth and development of children up to the age of 21. It is useful for anyone studying education, child development, early years or childhood. It contains abstracts and book reviews from hundreds of journals and a bibliography of thousands of technical reports, books, book chapters, theses and dissertations covering biomedical and social sciences worldwide.
Alternative link (if main link doesn't work)
SAGE Journals This link opens in a new window
Access to over 220 e-journals published in collections by Sage, with up to 59 years of backfiles where available. Access to more than 700 other journals from 1999 onwards for the titles not included in the collections. A multidisciplinary database, with particular emphasis on the social sciences.
Alternative link (if main link doesn't work)
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Scopus is the largest ever bibliographic database and indexes over 20,000 titles from science, technology, medicine and the social sciences. This abstract only database is updated daily so it is excellent for identifying the emerging research. Use Article Linker (AL - link to full text) to check for full text online sources.
Alternative link (if main link doesn't work)
Taylor & Francis Journals This link opens in a new window
Access to the full text articles of over 2,000 journals published by Taylor & Francis. Please note: a large selection of ebook titles are accessible on other platforms - please use Library Search to search for them (if you do not find the title you require use the Inter Library Loans service or contact your Subject Liaison Librarian for advice).
Alternative link (if main link doesn't work)
Teacher Reference Center This link opens in a new window
This index of over 230 peer-reviewed titles from popular teacher and administrator trade journals, periodicals, and books is offered free via the EBSCOhost platform. This database provides coverage on key education topics such as Assessment, Best practices, Continuing education, Current pedagogical research, Curriculum development, Elementary education, Higher education, Instructional media, Language arts, Literacy standards, School administration, Science and mathematics, and Teacher education.
Alternative link (if main link doesn't work)
Education in Video This link opens in a new window
UK-based Education in Video (formerly called Teachers TV), has been producing short instructional videos showing actual classroom footage since 2008 (videos date from 2004-2013). The content is used by educators - and those learning to be educators - worldwide. Alexander Street Press has licensed this material and is pleased to make it available free to all libraries in the U.K. No password is required to access this resource.
Alternative link (if main link doesn't work)
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
A database with over 92 million records of journal articles, conference papers, and book chapters dating fro 1900 to present. It includes several indexing databases in one covering: Social sciences, Arts & Humanities, and Physical Sciences. An extremely good database to use if you aren't sure where to start.
This abstract only database is updated daily. Use Article Linker (AL) to access full-text of articles etc. (where subscriptions or Open Access allow).
Alternative link (if main link doesn't work)
Lexis+ This link opens in a new window
Search and find UK and EU legal materials such as law cases and legislation. Information is updated regularly. Also access journal articles and some practitioner eBooks.
Alternative link (if main link doesn't work)

Nexis This link opens in a new window
Nexis Advance UK provides access to full text access to regional, national and international newspapers, business trade journals, company reports and country reports. (The New platform for Nexis UK was launched on 5 September 2019. This database was previously called LexisNexis Business and News). Lexis Advance also provides full text access to international cases, legislation and journals and some news from Australia, Canada, Hong Kong, Malaysia, New Zealand and United States of America.
Alternative link (if main link doesn't work)

Database search tips

Split your topic into keywords: To find better and fewer results, think about your keywords. Make sure they accurately describe what you are looking for, and add more keywords to make your search more specific.

Think of alternative keywords: For example, 'young' could also be referred to as 'youth' or 'adolescent'. Or, think of the bigger picture. For example, instead of searching for 'boys' or 'girls', try searching for 'gender'.

Search for phrases in "double quotation marks": For example, "special educational needs". This will search for the phrase as a whole, instead of the individual words.

Select a data range: For example, you may only want literature published since 2010. Most databases have the option to select dates.

For more help see our Finding resources guide, or contact your Librarian.

Finding resources guide