LibGuides: Digital media: Market Research

Markets

For databases containing information such as market share, strengths and weaknesses, industry profiles, analyst opinions, and much more.

Online resources

Databases
Websites

Mintel Reports This link opens in a new window
Mintel Reports provides access to market research reports and data on lifestyle trends including eating and drinking habits, clothing and footwear.
Alternative link (if main link doesn't work)
Passport This link opens in a new window
A global market information database, containing reports and statistics on industries (both consumer and B2B), markets, countries and consumers. You must register with your Brunel email address the first time you use the database. Passport works in multiple browsers, but access problems can usually be resolved by using Google Chrome. A comprehensive help section is available within the database. Also see the Market Research Library Guide for training recording by Brunel librarians on using Passport and other market research databases.
Alternative link (if main link does not work)
Statista This link opens in a new window
Statista is a leading provider of market and consumer data, covering 170 industries, more than 80,000 topics and a million plus statistics derived from more than 22,500 sources. Export statistics, infographics, publications and reports on areas such as brands, business plans, consumer, country, digital and trends, industry, politics and society.
Alternative link (if main link does not work)
Mintel Market Sizes This link opens in a new window
Mintel Market Sizes (formerly Global Market Navigator (GMN), and Snapshots) provides market data for 22 consumer industries across 54 countries. Search by country and industry or market to produce a customised report. Mintel Market Sizes contains the data previously available in Snapshots, including international reports, too.
Alternative link (if main link doesn't work)
Reports from Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window
The Enhanced Business Searching Interface in this EBSCOhost database allows you to browse:
FT.com: Financial Times This link opens in a new window
Note: first time users should follow this special FT registration link. You must be on campus to register. Use your Brunel University email address to create a unique username and password. The Financial Times is one of the world’s leading business news and information organisations. FT.com is an essential source of news and comment, both text and video, data analysis and research tools. It supports a range of disciplines from accounting and international relations to economics and management. The ePaper archive goes back to 28 November, 2005.
UK Data Service (incorporating ESDS) This link opens in a new window
The UK Data Service is a comprehensive resource funded by the ESRC to support researchers, teachers and policymakers who depend on high-quality social and economic data. Here you will find a single point of access to a wide range of secondary data including large-scale government surveys, international macrodata, business microdata, qualitative studies and census data from 1971 to 2011.

You will need to register your Brunel email address before you can log in - World Bank datasets do not require registration as these are available on open access.

IE10 is not compatible with UK Data Service. IE11 should work. Alternatively, on campus, you may use Firefox ESR on Windows 10 (or on Windows 7 go to Start > All Programs > Central Software > Browsers).

We hope you'll find most things you need in our databases, but there is also lots of useful information freely available online:

RBA Market and Industry Research
Recommendations of market research sources from Information Specialist Karen Blakeman. Includes sources freely available online and lists subscription databases.
Research and Markets
A database of reports from many research agencies. This website includes reports which Brunel does not subscribe to but which may potentially be consulted at other libraries such as the British Library Business and IP Centre, the City Business Library and Westminster Reference Library.

How to find market research reports

You may need to look in several databases to find a report on the topic you are researching. You may also find it useful to read reports from several different databases, to find additional information.

Mintel Academic contains UK reports on a variety of market sectors, themes and demographics, and a monthly UK retail briefing. It is easy to search or browse. Most reports also have an Interactive Dataset which you can use to see the questions asked in surveys contributing to the report, and see the responses by specific demographic groups. Please note that we don't have all UK reports.

Passport contains statistics and reports on industries (both consumer and B2B), markets, countries and consumers, both globally and focusing on many countries around the world.

Mintel Market Sizes (previously known as GMN/Global Market Navigator) These global reports can be accessed via Mintel Academic, but they're easier to find directly using the Market Sizes database.

Reports from Business Source Premier links directly to an A-Z list of market research and industry reports in this database, which you can search or browse.

How to search in Mintel Market Sizes

Searching for reports online

If you are searching for reports online using a search engine, remember the following tips:

Use the advanced search.
Try search only within pages ending with eg .ac.uk (UK universities) or .gov.uk (UK government websites).
Search only within PDF pages - these are more likely to be reports.
Be very careful to assess the quality of any report you find on a website.
For further advice, contact your Subject Liaison Librarian.