Additional Library e-resources for remote study: Overview

A-Z of resources with temporary access for remote study

The Library often makes available resources on a temporary basis in order to trial and evaluate them. Many publishers and suppliers of online resources have responded to the current COVID-19 situation by making additional resources available to help support you at this time. We will list as many as we can here, and several are already searchable using the usual library search. Please contact your Academic Liaison Librarian for more details.

Please get in touch with your Academic Liaison Librarian if you have feedback on these resources or would like the Library to consider these items for the long-term. 

A-Z of resources with temporary access
Name of resource Description Trial dates
Annual Reviews Annual Reviews has a collection of free COVID-19 articles available to all. Until further notice
Bloomberg Market Concepts (BMC) Bloomberg Market Concepts is an e-learning programme with certification which helps you learn to use the database Bloomberg through an exploration of financial market concepts. Free access to the BMC is normally only available on the Bloomberg computers in the Library, but the programme is temporarily accessible to Brunel students and staff online. More information on the Data and Statistics Library Guide. Not applicable
British Online Archives (BOA) BOA is providing us with a 30 days trial to the 'Apartheid Through the Eyes of South African Political Parties, 1948-1994' collection.
**Please ensure you are using VPN when accessing this resource**
Until 13/10/2021
Emerald Emerald Publishing has made freely available all its resources related to the management of epidemics and the coronavirus group of viruses. In addition, ebooks currently available via the Library as limited users licenses will temporarily have unlimited user access. Until further notice
IGI Global IGI Global has granted a 30-day trial access to their collections ranging from reference books. journals and videos. The resources cover subjects in the social sciences, life and Health sciences, computing and engineering. Access is via Brunel University IP address or  use VPN for off campus access. Until 14/07/2021
JoVE The science community is working hard to address the potential health crisis brought about by the outbreak of a novel coronavirus (COVID-19). To support these critical efforts, JoVE (Journal of Visual Experiments) has made freely available some resources related to the COVID-19 and science education. Until further notice
JSTOR Expanded Access JSTOR has kindly opened up expanded access to the remaining, unsubscribed collections, to 26 journal archives in Public Health, as well as JSTOR Archive and Primary Source collections to support institutions with their research and teaching. Until 30/06/2022
Internet Archive Worldwide access to publishers' content preserved by the Internet Archive on the National Emergency Library, including scholarly books from many University Presses. Please see the National Emergency Library's FAQs for details. Until further notice  
Pearson

Pearson are giving free access to their core range of HE online resources across a range of disciplines, alongside English language online courseware to all UK and Irish universities. In addition, there are some options for trialing free access to ebooks available via aggregator suppliers. Please speak to your Academic Liaison Librarian to explore this. 

Until further notice
ProQuest Coronavirus Research Database‎ Temporary access to a collection of articles on Covid-19. Until further notice
The Royal Society The Royal Society has kindly extended free access to its content freely available, including all journals and the picture library.

Until further notice

Wiley

Free online access to a collection of more than 5,000 relevant journal articles, book chapters and entries in Wiley's major reference works. Access to research collections and information related to COVID-19.   In addition, materials on historical perspectives on epidemics, methods used to control their spread, and associated health policies, see: Europe, 1817 or UK, 1854 or Hastings, 1873 or Sydney, 1895.

Until further notice

 

Temporary resources by College

LibSmart Point & Chat

Opening hours

Academic Liaison Librarians are available to chat between 1pm-4pm, Monday to Friday term-time about using library resources and referencing.

You can join us in person at the LibSmart Point desk on the first floor of the Library between 1-2pm on weekdays, and chat to us online via the LibSmart Chat between 2-4pm. 

Occasionally, and outside of these times, your query will be picked up by another member of Brunel Library staff or our friendly co-op support staff, who provide us with 24/7 chat coverage.

 

Search Library resources

Our discovery tool will look for books, journal articles and more in one quick easy search - a great place to start your research. For a more comprehensive search, individual databases offer greater functionality and give full access to a tailored suite of resources for your subject.

Search for books, articles, and electronic resources:

Search for books only (does not include all electronic books):

Search for full-text articles:

Search or browse for journals/periodicals:

Journal title begins with


Browse periodicals by subject


Browse periodical titles

0-9 A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z Other

Library systems status

Current status of Library systems

You can check the current status of systems managed by Brunel Library below. To view the status of systems managed by the Computer Centre, please visit their service status page.