Market research: Markets

Markets

For databases containing information such as market share, strengths and weaknesses, industry profiles, analyst opinions, and much more.

Online resources

We hope you'll find most things you need in our databases, but there is also lots of useful information freely available online:

Upcoming LibSmart Market Research events

Finding Market Research Reports and Data

An introduction to the market research databases at Brunel: Passport (Euromonitor), Mintel, Reports from Business Source Premier and Statista.

Also covering other sources you can use for market research, such as newspaper and journal databases and data sources.

Market research databases contain informational and analytical reports on a varied range of topics including: Industries (both consumer and Business to Business), Markets, Companies, Consumers, Economies / Countries.

Tuesday 16th November 1-2pm

How to find market research reports

You may need to look in several databases to find a report on the topic you are researching.  You may also find it useful to read reports from several different databases, to find additional information.

Mintel Academic contains UK reports on a variety of market sectors, themes and demographics, and a monthly UK retail briefing. It is easy to search or browse.  Most reports also have an Interactive Dataset which you can use to see the questions asked in surveys contributing to the report, and see the responses by specific demographic groups. Please note that we don't have all UK reports.

Passport contains statistics and reports on industries (both consumer and B2B), markets, countries and consumers, both globally and focusing on many countries around the world. 

Mintel Market Sizes (previously known as GMN/Global Market Navigator) These global reports can be accessed via Mintel Academic, but they're easier to find directly using the Market Sizes database.

Reports from Business Source Premier links directly to an A-Z list of market research and industry reports in this database, which you can search or browse. 

Searching for reports online

If you are searching for reports online using a search engine, remember the following tips:

  • Use the advanced search.
  • Try search only within pages ending with eg .ac.uk (UK universities) or .gov.uk (UK government websites).
  • Search only within PDF pages - these are more likely to be reports.
  • Be very careful to assess the quality of any report you find on a website.
  • For further advice, contact your Subject Liaison Librarian.