Welcome to the History guide. Throughout the guide's sections you'll find our suggestions for key resources and information in this subject area.
To get you started, here are the key shelfmark areas for your subject. The floor information is for books; print journals will have the same shelfmark but all journals are on the third floor.
Whilst the majority of the history books are under shelfmark D and E (American history), you will also find books of interest under J (politics) and U (military history). Additionally, the DC Watt Collection on Floor 1 contains resources obtained primarily for students on the MA Intelligence and Studies, but may be of interest to politics and history students and staff.
| Subject | Shelfmark |
| History, general | D1-2027 |
| British history | DA1-990 |
| Military and naval history | D25-27, U41 |
| World War 1 | D501-680 |
Our discovery tool, Library Search, will look for books, journal articles and more in one quick easy search - a great place to start your research. The results list also includes full-text links to subscribed content, like articles and textbooks.
To search Library 'Search all' you can use keywords relevant to your topic, author names or the title of the source.
For a more comprehensive search, individual databases offer greater functionality and give full access to a tailored suite of resources for your subject. To find out the database available in your subject, look for your programme in our Subject Guides, or you can view and access all our Databases alphabetically on the Databases A-Z webpage.
Search for books only (does not include all electronic books):
Search for full-text articles:
Monty's Functional Doctrine by 
Rum, Sodomy, Prayers, and the Lash Revisited by Contact Claire
Hello, I am Claire Mazer, the Academic Liaison Librarian for Brunel Law School and the Division of Politics & History (Department of SPS, including Criminology, MAISS and MPS - Policing).
I can help you with using the Library's print and online resources and queries regarding reading lists. I also help students with referencing (OSCOLA, Chicago and Harvard).
See the 'Claire at the LibSmart Point' box below to find out when I am duty at the enquiry desk, the LibSmart Point (floor 1, Library).
You can also email the Academic Services team for help: lib-academic@brunel.ac.uk.
Please note we do not offer a proof-reading service.
Academic Liaison Librarians are available between 1pm-4pm, Monday to Friday term-time to discuss queries about using library resources and referencing.
Outside of these times, you can use the Library chat service and your query will be picked up by another member of Brunel Library staff or our friendly co-op support staff, who provide us with 24/7 chat coverage.
