Welcome to the Global Challenges guide. Throughout this guide, you will find suggestions for key resources and information relevant to your area of study.
To get you started, here are the key shelfmark areas for your subject. The floor information is for books; print journals will have the same shelfmark but all journals are on the third floor.
| Subject | Shelfmark | Floor |
| Environmental Science | GE | 1 |
| Environmental Policy and Economic Development. Sustainable Development | HC79.E5 | 1 |
| Social Psychology | HM1001-1281 | 1 |
| Social History and Conditions, Social Problems | HN | 1 |
| International Relations | JZ5-6530 | 2 |
| Climate Change | QC903-981 | 2 |
| Global Health | RA441-600 | 2 |
Our discovery tool, Library Search, will look for books, journal articles and more in one quick easy search - a great place to start your research. The results list also includes full-text links to subscribed content, like articles and textbooks.
To search Library 'Search all' you can use keywords relevant to your topic, author names or the title of the source.
For a more comprehensive search, individual databases offer greater functionality and give full access to a tailored suite of resources for your subject. To find out the database available in your subject, look for your programme in our Subject Guides, or you can view and access all our Databases alphabetically on the Databases A-Z webpage.
Search for books only (does not include all electronic books):
Search for full-text articles:
Approaches and Methodologies in the Social Sciences by Matthew Parfitt Academic Liaison Librarian
Book an appointment
I support Arts and Humanities (English, Creative Writing, Film Studies, Music, Theatre, Games Design, Art Psychotherapy, and Global Challenges) and Education. If you need help finding literature, evaluating sources, using the web for research, reading lists, Harvard referencing, or have any questions about the library, then please get in touch.
Academic Liaison Librarians are available between 1pm-4pm, Monday to Friday term-time to discuss queries about using library resources and referencing.
Outside of these times, you can use the Library chat service and your query will be picked up by another member of Brunel Library staff or our friendly co-op support staff, who provide us with 24/7 chat coverage.
