Welcome to the Geography guide.
Use the tabs to explore suggestions for key resources and information in this subject area.
For up to date and scholarly articles use specialised subject databases. For suggestions on appropriate sources look at our Databases - Best Bets tab.
There is also a great deal on information to be found on the web if used responsibly, check out our websites tab for some sites and information on critically evaluating them.
To get you started, here are the key shelfmark areas for your subject. The floor information is for books; print journals will have the same shelfmark but all journals are on the third floor.
| Subject | Shelfmark | Floor |
| Geography | G1-922 | 1 |
| Environmental Science | GE1-350 | 1 |
| Human Geography | GF75 | 1 |
| Urban Geography | GF125 | 1 |
| Global Migration | HB1951-2578 | 1 |
Our discovery tool, Library Search, will look for books, journal articles and more in one quick easy search - a great place to start your research. The results list also includes full-text links to subscribed content, like articles and textbooks.
To search Library 'Search all' you can use keywords relevant to your topic, author names or the title of the source.
For a more comprehensive search, individual databases offer greater functionality and give full access to a tailored suite of resources for your subject. To find out the database available in your subject, look for your programme in our Subject Guides, or you can view and access all our Databases alphabetically on the Databases A-Z webpage.
Search for books only (does not include all electronic books):
Search for full-text articles:
Introducing Human Geographies by 
The Wiley-Blackwell Companion to Human Geography by 
Spaces of Geographical Thought by 
A Companion to Environmental Geography by 
What Is Geography? by 
Key Concepts in Geography by 
Nature by Academic Liaison Librarians are available between 1pm-4pm, Monday to Friday term-time to discuss queries about using library resources and referencing.
Outside of these times, you can use the Library chat service and your query will be picked up by another member of Brunel Library staff or our friendly co-op support staff, who provide us with 24/7 chat coverage.
If I'm unavailable, Academic Liaison Librarians are available via the LibSmart Point desk service.
The LibSmart Point, our drop-in desk, is available between 1-4pm on weekday afternoons (term-time).
We can help with finding research, materials and literature for your assignments, advise on how best to use Library resources, give referencing support and help with dissertations and final year projects.
Or you can pick up top tips in our LibSmart workshop sessions. Take a look and book a session on our LibSmart pages.
