Criminology: Overview

Welcome

Criminology Subject Guide                  Car

 

 

 

 

 

 

Welcome to the Criminology resources guide!

Throughout the guide's sections you'll find our suggestions for key resources and information for Criminology course subject areas.

To get you started, here are the key shelfmark areas in the library for Criminology resources. Generally you will find Criminology resources at shelfmarks beginning with HV (esp. HV6025; books - floor 1 and journals - floor 3) and K (these are Law books and journals which are housed together in the Law Library, floor 3). 

Subject Shelfmark
Culture HM261-656
Community HM756-781
Criminology (generally) HV6001-7220.5 esp. HV6025
Police. Detectives. Constabulary HV7551-8280.7
Penology. Prisons. Corrections HV8301-9920.7
Jurisprudence - Criminology KA100-199
Public law - Criminal law and procedure KM500-690

The easiest way to find the resources you are looking for is to use Library Search. Details are in the box below.

Search Library resources

Our discovery tool, Library Search, will look for books, journal articles and more in one quick easy search - a great place to start your research. The results list also includes full-text links to subscribed content, like articles and textbooks. 

To search Library 'Search all' you can use keywords relevant to your topic, author names or the title of the source. 

 

For a more comprehensive search, individual databases offer greater functionality and give full access to a tailored suite of resources for your subject. To find out the database available in your subject, look for your programme in our Subject Guides, or you can view and access all our Databases alphabetically on the Databases A-Z webpage.

Search for books only (does not include all electronic books):

Search for full-text articles:

Search or browse for journals/periodicals:

Journal title begins with


Browse periodicals by subject


Browse periodical titles

0-9 A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z Other

Featured resources

Contact Claire

   

Hello, I am Claire Mazer, the Academic Liaison Librarian for Brunel Law School and the Division of Politics & History (Department of SPS, including Criminology, MAISS and MPS - Policing).

I can help you with using the Library's print and online resources and queries regarding reading lists. I also help students with referencing (OSCOLA, Chicago and Harvard).

You can get in touch with me by email - Claire.Mazer@brunel.ac.uk. 

To set up an appointment with me, click on the 'Make an appointment' link. Please note at present I am only offering online appointments.

You can also email the Academic Services team for help: lib-academic@brunel.ac.uk.  

Please note we do not offer a proof-reading service.

LibSmart Point

Opening hours

Academic Liaison Librarians are available between 1pm-4pm, Monday to Friday term-time to discuss queries about using library resources and referencing.

Outside of these times, you can use the Library chat service and your query will be picked up by another member of Brunel Library staff or our friendly co-op support staff, who provide us with 24/7 chat coverage.