LibGuides: Oil & Gas Engineering: Databases

Web of Science This link opens in a new window
A database with over 92 million records of journal articles, conference papers, and book chapters dating fro 1900 to present. It includes several indexing databases in one covering: Social sciences, Arts & Humanities, and Physical Sciences. An extremely good database to use if you aren't sure where to start.
This abstract only database is updated daily. Use Article Linker (AL) to access full-text of articles etc. (where subscriptions or Open Access allow).
Alternative link (if main link doesn't work)
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Scopus is the largest ever bibliographic database and indexes over 20,000 titles from science, technology, medicine and the social sciences. This abstract only database is updated daily so it is excellent for identifying the emerging research. Use Article Linker (AL - link to full text) to check for full text online sources.
Alternative link (if main link doesn't work)

ASCE Research Library This link opens in a new window
The ASCE Research Library includes access to all online ASCE Journals (41 journals - 1983 to present). All full-text papers are provided in PDF format. Civil Engineering database subject headings may be searched on the ASCE's Civil Engineering Database.
Alternative link (if main link doesn't work)
IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new window
Provides access to all IEEE (Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers) transactions, journals, magazines and conference proceedings published since 1988, plus IEEE standards. Includes access to more than 1,200 e-books published by Wiley-IEEE and more than 690 e-books in the MIT Press eBooks Library Computing and Engineering Collection. If you are unable to open IEEE Xplore with the link above, try the IEEE Xplore mirror site.
Alternative link (if main link doesn't work)
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Offers access to the Elsevier digital library, covering over 1,800 publications. Most are available in full text after 1995. The collection is updated daily.
Alternative link (if main link doesn't work)

British Standards Online This link opens in a new window
BSOL provides access to the full text of more than 55,000 British and adopted European and international standards. Due to changes in security of the BSOL platform the FileOpen plug-in is required to access the PDF content on this platform please see here for instructions. please be aware that any sharing or reproduction of standards with any other body outside Brunel University subscription is prohibited by our terms and conditions.
Alternative link (if main link doesn't work)
IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new window
Provides access to all IEEE (Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers) transactions, journals, magazines and conference proceedings published since 1988, plus IEEE standards. Includes access to more than 1,200 e-books published by Wiley-IEEE and more than 690 e-books in the MIT Press eBooks Library Computing and Engineering Collection. If you are unable to open IEEE Xplore with the link above, try the IEEE Xplore mirror site.
Alternative link (if main link doesn't work)
National Technical Reports Library (NTRL) This link opens in a new window
A collection of U.S. government-sponsored technical reports acquired, indexed, and archived by The National Technical Information Service (NTIS). Subject coverage is quite wide, but this database will be of particular use to engineering students. The database contains full-text and abstracts.

Health and Safety Executive (HSE)
The HSE is the UKs Health and Safety authority offering guidance and support on safe working practices.
GOV.UK - Oil & Gas information
Information published by the UK government on Gas and Oil industries
Oil and gas: offshore environmental legislation [GOV.UK]
Environmental regulations and guidance on offshore oil and gas exploration and production, offshore gas unloading and storage and offshore carbon dioxide storage activities
Oil and gas: inspection strategy and enforcement activity
Yearly intervention plans are produced for oil and gas operations based on the OPRED inspection strategy. Enforcement activities for the breach of environmental regulations is based on the OPRED enforcement policy.
Oil and gas: environmental policy
Information and minutes for OSPAR, REACH and research groups and forums for offshore oil and gas.

BURA This link opens in a new window
BURA (Brunel University Research Archive) aims to showcase the University's research outputs by making them freely available to the public via the Internet. Awarded PhD theses are archived on the platform. No ID is required for access. Some works may be embargoed.
EThOS: Electronic Theses Online Service This link opens in a new window
Ethos is the Electronic Theses Online Service. Usually it allows access to records of over 600K doctoral theses from UK Higher Education institutions, with full text availability for an increasing number. However, due to cyber attack, this platform is not available. In the interim you can search the British Library's main catalogue and filter by 'Theses' to locate online access to UK doctoral theses.

British Library Catalogue
JISC Hub Discover
Over 200 UK library catalogues in one
WorldCat
Library catalogues from all over the world in one handy search!

Working off campus?

If you are working off campus, then don't forget to click the "Access resources off-campus" link on the Library homepage before you open a database or try to access any of our e-resources!

A screen grab from the library website. Highlighted is the "Log in to access online Library resources" button