A database with over 92 million records of journal articles, conference papers, and book chapters dating fro 1900 to present. It includes several indexing databases in one covering: Social sciences, Arts & Humanities, and Physical Sciences. An extremely good database to use if you aren't sure where to start.
This abstract only database is updated daily. Use Article Linker (AL) to access full-text of articles etc. (where subscriptions or Open Access allow).
Scopus is the largest ever bibliographic database and indexes over 20,000 titles from science, technology, medicine and the social sciences. This abstract only database is updated daily so it is excellent for identifying the emerging research. Use Article Linker (AL - link to full text) to check for full text online sources.
The following links will take you through to useful publisher content platforms where you will be able to access their range of journal titles via one searchable interface. These differ from the those items listed in the "For journal papers" tab - as they are restricted in their search to a particular publisher.
ARC is the database for finding papers and reports published by the American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics (AIAA) on aerospace. Contents reflect the current technical research, as well as materials from industry archives. Access to full-text is limited to open access materials only.
Offers access to the Elsevier digital library, covering over 1,800 publications. Most are available in full text after 1995. The collection is updated daily.
The American national laboratories (for example Sandia National Labs) carry out a variety of research for the US Government which as it's funded by the government is made available to the public. There are lots of reports that are relevant to aerospace engineering.
The NASA STI Repository (also known as the NASA Technical Reports Server (NTRS)) provides access to NASA metadata records, full-text online documents, images, and videos. The types of information included are conference papers, journal articles, meeting papers, patents, research reports, images, movies, and technical videos – scientific and technical information (STI) created or funded by NASA.
A collection of U.S. government-sponsored technical reports acquired, indexed, and archived by The National Technical Information Service (NTIS). Subject coverage is quite wide, but this database will be of particular use to engineering students. The database contains full-text and abstracts.
This database offers research results from the U.S. Department of Energy (DoE) and its predecessor agencies. Research results include journal articles/accepted manuscripts and related metadata; technical reports; scientific research datasets and collections; scientific software; patents; conference and workshop papers; books and theses; and multimedia. OSTI.GOV contains over 3 million records, including citations to 1.5 million journal articles, 1 million of which have digital object identifiers (DOIs) linking to full-text articles on publishers' websites. OSTI.GOV provides access to this DOE STI by offering numerous easy-to-use search capabilities and customization options.
The European Space Agency (ESA) maintains a number of standards for european space activities. Also available are a number of Engineering handbooks. This is a free to access database.
Standards used by the National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA) in the course of their aerospace activities.
If you are working off campus, then don't forget to click the "Access resources off-campus" link on the Library homepage before you open a database or try to access any of our e-resources!
