LibGuides: Geography: Websites

Subject websites

Anyone can publish content on the internet, carefully evaluate free information according to the following criteria:

Accuracy: Can you verify the facts provided on this site? Is a methodology stated?

Authenticity: Consider the author’s credentials. Is it academic discussion? Who owns the site?

Objectivity: Are arguments presented fairly? Is the information biased in its presentation?

Coverage: Is adequate detail provided? Is the information too basic, too complex or irrelevant?

Currency: Is the information time sensitive? When was this website last updated?

Gender Statistics Database
European Institute for Gender Equality (EIGE) ( an autonomous body of the European Union) has created a gender statistics database for researchers which enables easy comparisons between European and other nations. It includes indicators on men and women in decision making, EU strategy areas and many other policy areas ranging from health to education, work and employment.
Georg Simmel
Texts by, and about, Georg Simmel, in German and English.
Index New Zealand
Index New Zealand is a searchable database that contains abstracts and descriptions of articles from about 1000 New Zealand periodicals and newspapers published from the 1950s to the present day.
Ipsos MORI
MORI is the largest market and public opinion research agency in the UK. Contains political and social trends dating back at least 30 years.
London's Pulse: Medical Officer of Health reports 1848-1972
The online resource contains over 5000 fully searchable reports, from 1848 to 1973, detailing the health of Londoners in intimate detail – borough by borough and often street by street - written by the people responsible for keeping the city healthy over a period of drastic social, economic and technological change.
Moving here
Moving Here explores, records and illustrates why people came to England over the last 200 years and what their experiences were and continue to be. It offers free access to an online catalogue of versions of original material related to migration history from local, regional and national archives, libraries and museums.
NatCen Social Research
Britain’s largest independent social research agency. Covers areas in Children & young people, Communities, Families, Crime & justice, Equality & diversity, Health & wellbeing, Housing, Income & work, Schools, education & training, Social & political attitudes, and Transport.
Trove (free Antipodean resources)
Trove helps you find and use resources relating to Australia. It brings together content, including newspapers, from libraries, museums, archives, repositories and other research and collecting organisations big and small.
Women working, 1800-1930
An exploration of women's impact on the economic life of the United States between 1800 and the Great Depression.

Royal Geographical Society
The Royal Geographical Society (with the Institute of British Geographers) promotes the study of geography and supports geographers in the UK and across the world.
The Geological Society
The Geological Society of London provides support to Geoscientists in the UK and overseas.
Equality and Human Rights Commission
Promotes and monitors human rights; and protects, enforces and promotes equality across the nine "protected" grounds - age, disability, gender, race, religion and belief, pregnancy and maternity, marriage and civil partnership, sexual orientation and gender reassignment.

National Statistics
Browse by theme or find statistics for specific local area or region.
UK Data Service
The UK Data Service is a comprehensive high-quality social and economic data resource funded by the ESRC. Contains a wide range of secondary data including large-scale government surveys, international macrodata, business microdata, qualitative studies and census data from 1971 to 2011.
YouGov
Global Public opinion site which surveys attitudes to public policy.

Statista This link opens in a new window
Statista is a leading provider of market and consumer data, covering 170 industries, more than 80,000 topics and a million plus statistics derived from more than 22,500 sources. Export statistics, infographics, publications and reports on areas such as brands, business plans, consumer, country, digital and trends, industry, politics and society.
Alternative link (if main link does not work)

Web search tips

Google Scholar. Try using this to limit your search to scholarly sources.

Google Advanced Search. You can search within a particular domain eg .gov.uk. This will limit your search to UK government publications.

Or, instead of searching the Internet, go directly to the source. We have selected some websites here that could be useful to your search.

"Double quotation marks". If you're searching for the title of a document or searching for a phrase, enclose your search in "double quotation marks".