Service Standard: Library Service Standards

Introduction

Brunel Library is committed to delivering on it's customer charter. In order to achieve this the Library has set a number of service standards. 

We will support students' flexible study needs.

Target Team Q2 (Jan - Mar)
The library will be open for the advertised opening hours. Customer Services Achieved and ongoing. 
Library services will provide a 24/7 enquiry service. Customer Services Achieved and ongoing. 

 

We will provide excellent customer service.

Target Team Q2 (Jan - Mar)
We will deliver high quality customer service that achieves the Customer Service Excellence accreditation. All Successfully renewed 6/2023.
We will regularly seek the views of customers in a variety of ways. All Achieved and ongoing.
We will achieve an average quarterly satisfaction score of 4.5 out of 5 for enquiries emailed to library@brunel.ac.uk. Customer Service 4.7/5
We will achieve an average quarterly satisfaction score of 3.5 out of 4 for enquiries received on LibChat. Customer Service 3.9/4

 

We will respond promptly to enquiries.

Target Team Q2 (Jan - Mar)
We will respond to 92% of enquiries sent to library@brunel.ac.uk or 0203 3222298 within 24 hours. Customer Services 95%
We will answer 92% of phone calls to 01895 26614 within 60 seconds. Customer Services 98%
We will respond to 95% of LibChat enquiries within 60 seconds. Customer Services 98%
We will respond to 90% of enquiries for academic support within 2 working days. Academic Services 85%
We will respond to 95% of all enquiries related to document delivery or e-resources within 1 working day. Content & Discovery 98%
We will provide funder-compliant decisions on open access funding within 5 working days. Open Research and Rights 88%
We will respond to 90% of internal enquiries related to records management within 2 working days. Records Management 96%
We will respond to 90% of internal enquiries related to Archives and Special Collections within 1 working week. Archives and Special Collections

100%

We will respond to 90% of external enquiries related to Archives and Special Collections within 2 working week. Archives and Special Collections 100%

 

We will provide access to relevant learning materials to support your course of study.

Target Team Q2 (Jan - Mar)
We will reshelve 80% of returned items within 24 hours. Customer Services Temporarily suspended due to faulty lifts.
We will make 90% of print and ebook requests available to access within 10 working days. Content and Discovery 99.8%

We will support academic success.

Target Team 2022/23
Achieve an average yearly satisfaction score of 75% for teaching provided by Academic Liaison Librarians. Academic Services 86.3%
1-to-1 appointments with Academic Liaison Librarians will be available as advertised on the library webpages. Academic Services Achieved and ongoing. Students and staff can make appointments with ALLs online.
We will advocate and explain requirements around Open Access and provide support to researchers. Open Research and Rights Achieved and ongoing. 
We will develop and update online study support resources. Academic Services Achieved and ongoing. A new Avoiding Plagiarism module was created and uploaded for this academic year. 

 

Quarters

Brunel Library has identified the following quarterly breakdown for CSE scores. 
Q1: October - December
Q2: January - March
Q3: April - June
Q4: July - September