LibGuides: Electronic and Electrical Engineering: Databases

Recommended databases

Best bets
Recommended

ACM Digital Library This link opens in a new window
Provides access to articles, conference proceedings, abstracts and technical magazines published, or hosted, by the Association for Computing Machinery. The collection is updated monthly. Brunel's institutional login is required for access.
Alternative link (if main link doesn't work)
IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new window
Provides access to all IEEE (Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers) transactions, journals, magazines and conference proceedings published since 1988, plus IEEE standards. Includes access to more than 1,200 e-books published by Wiley-IEEE and more than 690 e-books in the MIT Press eBooks Library Computing and Engineering Collection.
Alternative link (if main link doesn't work)
IET Digital Library This link opens in a new window
All IET (Institution of Engineering and Technology) journal articles published from 2013 to date are freely available on the IET Hub at Wiley Online Library. Brunel users can also access pre-2013 material at the IET Journals Archive.
IET Wiring Regulations This link opens in a new window
VitalSource Bookshelf is the platform the IET uses to provide digital copies of the IET Wiring Regulations and other supplementary materials, such as our Codes of Practice and Guides. The platform is straightforward to use and allows you to download books for offline viewing, print pages and make highlights.

You will need to create a VitalSource account to access the content, please use your Brunel email address when registering, only Brunel email addresses will allow access to the content.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Contains full text articles from over 5,800 journals, covering many subjects, including anthropology, politics, political science, psychology, psychiatry, sociology and social work. Coverage includes 450 magazines for news, current awareness and examples of professional practice.
Alternative link (if main link doesn't work)
British Standards Online This link opens in a new window
BSOL provides access to the full text of more than 55,000 British and adopted European and international standards.
Due to changes in security of the BSOL platform the FileOpen plug-in is required to access the PDF content on this platform please see here for instructions. please be aware that any sharing or reproduction of standards with any other body outside Brunel University subscription is prohibited by our terms and conditions.
Alternative link (if main link doesn't work)
Construction Information Service This link opens in a new window
CIS provides up-to-date construction information and legislation from more than 150 national organisations, including BSI (but please note, full text access to British Standards is on another platform, British Standards Online (BSOL) not CIS. CIS also provides access to full text publications or abstracts from the BRE, BSRIA, CIOB (Chartered Institute of Building), CIBSE, CIRIA and The Institution of Structural Engineers.
Emerald Ejournals This link opens in a new window
Emerald journals provides access to articles from six major collections: Accounting, Finance & Economics, Business Management & Strategy, Human Resources, Learning & Organization Studies, Information & Knowledge Management, Marketing and Operations Logistics & Quality. It also contains content relevant to Engineering.
Alternative link (if main link doesn't work)
Institution of Civil Engineers (ICE) Proceedings This link opens in a new window
Institution of Civil Engineers (ICE) proceedings published between 2001 to date. Also inlcuded is the Institution of Civil Engineers (ICE) archive which contains every peer-reviewed technical paper published between 1836 and 2001.
Alternative link (if main link doesn't work)
Institution of Mechanical Engineers (IMechE) Journals Collection This link opens in a new window
Provides access to the full text of 18 IMechE journals, from 1847 to date, now published by SAGE, covering all aspects of mechanical engineering from 1847 to the present day. Each of the other 18 journals, including the 16 proceedings of the IMechE, is focused on particular area of engineering to offer a greater depth of coverage in mechanical engineering.
Alternative link (if main link doesn't work)
O'Reilly Safari This link opens in a new window
Includes access to more than 35,000 book titles plus more than 30,000 hours of video within the information technology and computing subject area from O'Reilly Media Inc. and over 200 major IT publishing houses. Also provides access to proven learning paths, case studies, interactive tutorials, audio books, and videos from O’Reilly's global conferences.

If you cannot sign in using the link above, use the alternative link below and enter your Brunel email address to sign in via SSO.
Alternative link (if link above doesn't work - enter your Brunel email address to access Brunel Sign-In)
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Scopus is the largest ever bibliographic database and indexes over 20,000 titles from science, technology, medicine and the social sciences. This abstract only database is updated daily so it is excellent for identifying the emerging research. Use Article Linker (AL - link to full text) to check for full text online sources.
Alternative link (if main link doesn't work)

Database search tips

Split your topic into keywords: To find better and fewer results, think about your keywords. Make sure they accurately describe what you are looking for, and add more keywords to make your search more specific.

Think of alternative keywords: For example, 'young' could also be referred to as 'youth' or 'adolescent'. Or, think of the bigger picture. For example, instead of searching for 'boys' or 'girls', try searching for 'gender'.

Search for phrases in "double quotation marks": For example, "special educational needs". This will search for the phrase as a whole, instead of the individual words.

Select a data range: For example, you may only want literature published since 2010. Most databases have the option to select dates.

For more help see our Finding resources guide, or contact your Librarian.

Finding resources guide