Brunel Language Centre: Journal activity

How are journals organised?

For each question, choose the missing words from the options listed.

Each word or phrase should only be used once.

An issue of a journal contains many _____.
journals: 42 votes (6.7%)
issues: 26 votes (4.15%)
articles: 463 votes (73.84%)
Library search: 43 votes (6.86%)
volume: 23 votes (3.67%)
article title: 30 votes (4.78%)
Total Votes: 627
Every year a journal is published, it has a new _____ number.
journals: 61 votes (10.66%)
issues: 82 votes (14.34%)
articles: 32 votes (5.59%)
Library search: 67 votes (11.71%)
volume: 304 votes (53.15%)
article title: 26 votes (4.55%)
Total Votes: 572
A journal volume usually contains several _____, published throughout the year.
journals: 47 votes (8.56%)
issues: 328 votes (59.74%)
articles: 91 votes (16.58%)
Library search: 27 votes (4.92%)
volume: 18 votes (3.28%)
article title: 38 votes (6.92%)
Total Votes: 549
A database contains many _____.
journals: 344 votes (64.18%)
issues: 24 votes (4.48%)
articles: 40 votes (7.46%)
Library search: 58 votes (10.82%)
volume: 28 votes (5.22%)
article title: 42 votes (7.84%)
Total Votes: 536
To access a specific journal article, the first place you should search is _____.
journals: 37 votes (6.95%)
issues: 13 votes (2.44%)
articles: 28 votes (5.26%)
Library search: 334 votes (62.78%)
volume: 7 votes (1.32%)
article title: 113 votes (21.24%)
Total Votes: 532
To access a journal article, you should search by _____.
journals: 46 votes (8.29%)
issues: 7 votes (1.26%)
articles: 45 votes (8.11%)
Library search: 86 votes (15.5%)
volume: 9 votes (1.62%)
article title: 362 votes (65.23%)
Total Votes: 555

1. An issue of a journal contains many articles.

2. Every year a journal is published it has a new volume number.

3. A journal volume usually contains several issues, published throughout the year. 

4. A database contains many journals.

5. To access a journal article, the first place you should search is Library search.

6. To access a journal article, you should search by article title.

Loading ...

Guide to Academic Search Complete database

Use this document for tips on how to search the database Academic Search Complete. Most databases work in a similar way to Academic Search Complete, so you can apply this information elsewhere too.

Databases will also have in-built help information, so do check the resource itself if you need help, or get in touch with your Subject Liaison Librarian.