Mechanical Engineering: Databases

The ASME Digital Collection is the repository of current and archival literature featuring: ASME's Transaction Journals from 2000 to the present and Conference Proceedings from 2002 to the present.

Provides access to all IEEE (Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers) transactions, journals, magazines and conference proceedings published since 1988, plus IEEE standards. Includes access to more than 1,200 e-books published by Wiley-IEEE and more than 690 e-books in the MIT Press eBooks Library Computing and Engineering Collection. If you are unable to open IEEE Xplore with the link above, try the IEEE Xplore mirror site.

Provides access to the full text of 18 IMechE journals, from 1847 to date, now published by SAGE, covering all aspects of mechanical engineering from 1847 to the present day. Each of the other 18 journals, including the 16 proceedings of the IMechE, is focused on particular area of engineering to offer a greater depth of coverage in mechanical engineering.

Offers access to the Elsevier digital library, covering over 1,800 publications. Most are available in full text after 1995. The collection is updated daily.

The NASA STI Repository (also known as the NASA Technical Reports Server (NTRS)) provides access to NASA metadata records, full-text online documents, images, and videos. The types of information included are conference papers, journal articles, meeting papers, patents, research reports, images, movies, and technical videos – scientific and technical information (STI) created or funded by NASA.

A collection of U.S. government-sponsored technical reports acquired, indexed, and archived by The National Technical Information Service (NTIS).  Subject coverage is quite wide, but this database will be of particular use to engineering students.  The database contains full-text and abstracts.

This database offers research results from the U.S. Department of Energy (DoE) and its predecessor agencies.  Research results include journal articles/accepted manuscripts and related metadata; technical reports; scientific research datasets and collections; scientific software; patents; conference and workshop papers; books and theses; and multimedia.  OSTI.GOV contains over 3 million records, including citations to 1.5 million journal articles, 1 million of which have digital object identifiers (DOIs) linking to full-text articles on publishers' websites.  OSTI.GOV provides access to this DOE STI by offering numerous easy-to-use search capabilities and customization options.

Provides access to 200,000+ resources from the Society of Automobile Engineers (SAE) covering a range of technologies surrounding aerospace, automotive, and commercial vehicle industries. Includes full-text access to SAE Journals, magazines, and technical papers as well as SAE Standards, eBooks, and EDGE reports. Note: 3rd party content is not covered by our subscription. Please see the How to documents for users section of the SAE Mobilus platform for advice on searching the platform and creating alerts etc.

BSOL provides access to the full text of more than 55,000 British and adopted European and international standards. 
Due to changes in security of the BSOL platform the FileOpen plug-in is required to access the PDF content on this platform please see here for instructions. please be aware that any sharing or reproduction of standards with any other body outside Brunel University subscription is prohibited by our terms and conditions.

Provides access to all IEEE (Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers) transactions, journals, magazines and conference proceedings published since 1988, plus IEEE standards. Includes access to more than 1,200 e-books published by Wiley-IEEE and more than 690 e-books in the MIT Press eBooks Library Computing and Engineering Collection. If you are unable to open IEEE Xplore with the link above, try the IEEE Xplore mirror site.

Access to the following SAE standards, including Historical, Current and Redlines : Aerospace Material Specifications – (AMS, AMS, AMSAG, AMSA) / SAE Aerospace Standards (AS, ARP, AIR, ARD) / SAE Ground Vehicle Standards (J, JA, USCAR).

BURA (Brunel University Research Archive) aims to showcase the University's research outputs by making them freely available to the public via the Internet. Awarded PhD theses are archived on the platform. No ID is required for access. Some works may be embargoed.

Ethos is the Electronic Theses Online Service. Usually it allows access to records of over 600K doctoral theses from UK Higher Education institutions, with full text availability for an increasing number. However, due to cyber attack, this platform is not available. In the interim you can search the British Library's main catalogue and filter by 'Theses' to locate online access to UK doctoral theses.