Standards are a huge part of the engineering literature, and it's likely you will end up using them in your assignments. So you will need to know how to reference them. Choose your referencing style from the box below to find out how to reference standards.
Citations
For citations in the Harvard style, you simply use the name of the standards organisation. For example:
Testing the sample using non-destructive methods (British Standards Institution, 2023) showed that…
If you use a figure or diagram from a standard - add the details to your citation. For example
Fig 1 - Symbols for Tumble drying (British Standards Institution, 2023, Table 3, p. 9)
References
If you are using our British Standards Online (BSOL) database to access a British standard your reference will be in the following format1:
Name of authorising organisation (Year of publication) Number and title of standard. Place of publication: Publisher or Available at: DOI or URL (Accessed: date).
For example:
British Standards Institution (2023) BS EN ISO 3758:2023 - Textiles - Care labelling code using symbols. Available at: https://bsol.bsigroup.com (Accessed: 3 December 2023).
Note: You do not have to give the full URL (web address) for standards you reference from the BSOL database - just need only give the main domain name. This is because the database can not even be searched without a subscription - so the full URL will not work for a reader that does not have a subscription to the database.
Notes
1 The format used is taken from the Cite them Right website.
Citations
IEEE Style is a numerical referencing style, and so your citation is therefore just a number in square brackets. For example:
Testing the sample using non-destructive methods [1] showed that…
If you use a figure or diagram from a standard - add the details to your citation. For example:
Fig 1 - Symbols for Tumble drying [1, Tbl. 3, p. 9]
References
If you are using our British Standards Online (BSOL) database to access a British standard your reference will be in the following format1:
| [reference number] |
Title of standard, Standard number, Date. [Online]. Available: URL |
For example:
| [1] | Textiles - Care labelling code using symbols, BS EN ISO 3758:2023, 2023. [Online]. Available: https://bsol.bsigroup.com |
Note: You do not have to give the full URL (web address) for standards you reference from the BSOL database - just need only give the main domain name. This is because the database can not even be searched without a subscription - so the full URL will not work for a reader that does not have a subscription to the database.
Notes
1 The format used is taken from the Cite them Right website.
Citations
Vancouver Style is a numerical referencing style, and so your citation is therefore just a number in round brackets. For example:
Testing the sample using non-destructive methods (2) showed that…
If you use a figure or diagram from a standard - add the details to your citation. For example:
Fig 1 - Symbols for Tumble drying (2, p. 9)
References
If you are using our British Standards Online (BSOL) database to access a British standard your reference will be in the following format1:
| reference number. | Publishing organisation/institution. Standard number. Title. Place of publication: publisher; year. |
For example:
| 2. | British Standards Institution. BS EN ISO 3758:2023. Textiles. Care labelling code using symbols. London: BSI; 2023. |
Notes
1 The format used is taken from the Cite them Right website.
For more help with referencing, please visit:
Useful documents