LibGuides: Chemical Engineering: Databases

Web of Science This link opens in a new window
A database with over 92 million records of journal articles, conference papers, and book chapters dating fro 1900 to present. It includes several indexing databases in one covering: Social sciences, Arts & Humanities, and Physical Sciences. An extremely good database to use if you aren't sure where to start.
This abstract only database is updated daily. Use Article Linker (AL) to access full-text of articles etc. (where subscriptions or Open Access allow).
Alternative link (if main link doesn't work)
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Scopus is the largest ever bibliographic database and indexes over 20,000 titles from science, technology, medicine and the social sciences. This abstract only database is updated daily so it is excellent for identifying the emerging research. Use Article Linker (AL - link to full text) to check for full text online sources.
Alternative link (if main link doesn't work)
PubMed Central This link opens in a new window
US National Library of Medicine's digital archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature. This databases indexes millions of citations from scholarly health and medical research sources and offers a broad overview of the literature. Try Europe PMC - an alternative version which indexes the full text source to assist with text mining. Personalised sign in is via one of several services such as ORCiD, Google,etc. For Medical Subject Headings (controlled language indexing), we recommend that you use Medline on Ovid.
Alternative link (if main link doesn't work)

SAGE Journals This link opens in a new window
Access to over 220 e-journals published in collections by Sage, with up to 59 years of backfiles where available. Access to more than 700 other journals from 1999 onwards for the titles not included in the collections. A multidisciplinary database, with particular emphasis on the social sciences.
Alternative link (if main link doesn't work)
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Offers access to the Elsevier digital library, covering over 1,800 publications. Most are available in full text after 1995. The collection is updated daily.
Alternative link (if main link doesn't work)
Nature Publishing Group Journals This link opens in a new window
Provides access to 13 Nature branded journals and Oncogene, covering subjects across the life, physical and applied sciences and, most recently, clinical medicine. Content encompasses daily news, expert opinion, practical methodology, and high impact research and reviews.
Alternative link (if main link doesn't work)
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
Wiley's main publishing platform offering over 8 million articles from 1,600 journals covering Agriculture, Aquaculture & Food Science, Architecture & Planning, Art & Applied, Business, Economics, Finance & Accounting, Chemistry, Computer Science & Information Technology, Earth, Space & Environmental Sciences, Humanities, Law & Criminology, Life Sciences,
Mathematics & Statistics, Medicine, Nursing, Dentistry & Healthcare, Physical Sciences & Engineering, Psychology, Social & Behavioural Sciences, and Veterinary Medicine.
Alternative link (if main link doesn't work)

British Standards Online This link opens in a new window
BSOL provides access to the full text of more than 50,000 British and adopted European and international standards. It is updated daily. Due to changes in security of the BSOL platform fileopen plug in is required to access the PDF content on this platform please see here for instructions. please be aware that any sharing or reproduction of standards with any other body outside Brunel University subscription is prohibited by our terms and conditions.
Alternative link (if main link doesn't work)

BURA This link opens in a new window
BURA (Brunel University Research Archive) aims to showcase the University's research outputs by making them freely available to the public via the Internet. Awarded PhD theses are archived on the platform. No ID is required for access. Some works may be embargoed.
EThOS: Electronic Theses Online Service This link opens in a new window
Ethos is the Electronic Theses Online Service. Usually it allows access to records of over 600K doctoral theses from UK Higher Education institutions, with full text availability for an increasing number. However, due to cyber attack, this platform is not available. In the interim you can search the British Library's main catalogue and filter by 'Theses' to locate online access to UK doctoral theses.

British Library Catalogue
The national library of the UK.
JISC Hub Discover
Over 200 UK library catalogues in one
WorldCat
Library catalogues from all over the world in one handy search!

Working off campus?

If you are working off campus, then don't forget to click the "Access resources off-campus" link on the Library homepage before you open a database or try to access any of our e-resources!

A screen grab from the library website. Highlighted is the "Log in to access online Library resources" button