LibGuides: Journalism: Websites

Subject websites

Anyone can publish content on the internet, carefully evaluate free information according to the following criteria:

Accuracy: Can you verify the facts provided on this site? Is a methodology stated?

Authenticity: Consider the author’s credentials. Is it academic discussion? Who owns the site?

Objectivity: Are arguments presented fairly? Is the information biased in its presentation?

Coverage: Is adequate detail provided? Is the information too basic, too complex or irrelevant?

Currency: Is the information time sensitive? When was this website last updated?

BBC College of Journalism website
Freely available journalism resources created by the BBC. A huge library of content on topics such as using social media and verifying user-generated content to how to write for the web, how to package for TV, how to interview and how to work safely.

There are sections on how the UK legal system works, on reporting the great religions of the world and sports journalism.
First Draft News
A collection of articles and case studies offering best practice advice and guidance for handling eyewitness media.
The Conversation
The Conversation offers informed commentary and debate on the issues affecting our world.
Hold The Front Page
Journalism jobs and news from the UK regional newspaper industry.
The Front Line
In the news section you can view the latest journalistic news and current affairs, written by bloggers from around the world. The site champions independent journalism.
Journalism at Brunel
Brunel University's Journalism Portal features course links, modules, examples of great journalists, students' work and recommended web links.
Journalism
The site includes news, press releases, jobs, training, awards, blogs and directories. There is also the facility to post your details onto the site in you are interested in becoming a freelance journalist. Within the directory section there are extensive web links for media law, research, news agencies and pressure groups.
Editors Code of the Practice Committee
The Editors' Codebook, the online handbook to the Code of Practice overseen by the Press Complaints Commission.

BBC
Channel 4
Channel 5
Independent Radio News (IRN)
The IRN serves the commercial radio network with national and international news.
Reuters
The international news agency.
ITN
'On demand news' stories courtesy of Independent Television News Ltd.
Newspapers
Details of our Newspaper subscription sources, along with links to free online news sources, national and international, current and historical.

Broadcast Journalism Training Council
This is an essential stop for anyone considering a career in broadcast journalism. The site features advice and guidance on the skills and knowledge required to work as a journalist as well as offering a comprehensive set of web links.
European Journalism Centre
This is a forum for journalists, media executives and educators within the world of journalism. The site features a resources section which includes further links to journalism organisations, news, newspapers, magazines, news agencies, broadcasters, copyright and weblogs.
International Federation of Journalists (IFJ)
The IFJ is the world’s largest organisation of journalists. It is their voice in an international arena fighting for journalists’ professional rights. The site features projects, reports, issues and campaigns.
National Council for the Training of Journalists
The site features news, careers advice and details of qualifications for journalists.
National Union of Journalists (NUJ)
The NUJ is the official union for journalists; an active, campaigning organisation seeking to improve the pay and conditions of their members. There is a link from the homepage to a section entitled NUJ for students. This section includes a best practice guide for work experience and a comprehensive guide to careers information for journalists.
Ofcom
The independent regulator for the UK communications industry.
Periodical Publishers Association
The website for the trade association for the UK magazine industry and business-to-business media publishers.
The Periodicals Training Council (PTC)
The PTC is the lead body for the training and development of people within the magazine industry. On the website you will find a useful forum that discusses industry issues, best practice, circulation statistics, news and features.
Reuters Institute for the Study of Journalism
Allows free downloads of its publications and working papers.
World Association of Newspapers
An international organisation promoting press freedom and fostering communication.

Media Wise
Media Wise is a charitable organisation promoting the benefits of the public compliance of journalists and broadcasters. On the website there are useful factsheets.

News on Screen
News on Screen is a resource from the British Universities Film and Video Council (BUFVC). It contains a database of over 180,000 cinemagazine & newsreel stories (1910-83) linked to production documents & films.

Web search tips

Google Scholar. Try using this to limit your search to scholarly sources.

Google Advanced Search. You can search within a particular domain eg .gov.uk. This will limit your search to UK government publications.

Or, instead of searching the Internet, go directly to the source. We have selected some websites here that could be useful to your search.

"Double quotation marks". If you're searching for the title of a document or searching for a phrase, enclose your search in "double quotation marks".