Social work: Practitioner resources

Practitioner Resources

• Department of Health & Social Care 

  Find guidance and regulation information for Health and Social Care on the UK government department's website.

• National Institute for Health and Care Excellence (NICE) 

  Find clinical guidance, systematic reviews, evidence and research recommendations relating to health, drugs and technologies, public health, social care and healthcare management and commissioning

• Skills for Care 

  Find information relevant to Social Work, Nursing and Occupational Therapy on the website of the employer-led workforce development body for adult social care in England.

Professional Resources

• British Association of Social Workers
• SWE Professional Standards
• Professional Capabilities Framework
• BASW Code of Ethics
• BASW Readiness for Practice 
• Social Care Institute for Excellence

Nexis

This newspaper database is updated daily and provides full text access to all UK national newspapers, plus regional newspapers, international news providers and several trade journals and magazines.

• UK Government Publications Search 

  Search the UK central government's publications, including command papers, act papers, policies and guidance.

• Legislation.gov.uk 

  A collection of most of the UK's legislation with accompanying explanatory documents, delivered by The National Archives.

• Westlaw UK

  This database includes: full text UK, EU and US case law and legislation, including Annotated Statutes; English Reports; and some full text legal journals. 
  
   

• Kings Fund Library Database for information relating to health and social care management and policy, systems, services and leadership.
• NSPCC Library catalogue for safeguarding, child protection, child abuse and neglect.
• AgeInfo – information resource provided by the Centre for Policy on Ageing Library Service, covering social gerontology.