This guide provides access to 'Evidence Based' resources which have been designed for health professionals to provide quick access to the latest evidence to inform their decision making.
'Evidence' includes:
These resources can be used to find information for your assignments. If you need to produce a 'literature review' for your assignment you should also use specialist databases such as CINAHL and Medline. Use the Literature Searching guides to discover how to perform an effective search and access these databases.
These are resources which summarise available research and evidence in health care.
They can be used:
This resource differs from the Cochrane Library as it's sole function is to summarise the key findings of Cochrane Systematic Reviews.
Enter your own search terms to perform a search.
Keep your search simple using only two or three search terms.
Phrases should be surrounded with speech marks e.g. "mind body therapy"
Truncation * is not necessary as different word endings are automatically recognised.
You can filter your results according to topic.
The National ElF Service provides access to blogs written by 'experts' in the field of health, analysing and evaluating current research papers. These blogs are available under the following categories:
American resource providing summaries of evidence on ageing related topics.
As well as evidence summaries information is also provided through:
You can search by entering your own search terms or browsing by topic.
The Browse Topics button provides topics under the categories of:
Provides access to critically appraised health research from both within the NIHR and other research organisations. Information is available in 3 formats:
 |
NIHR Signals: Accessible, timely summaries of the most recent, relevant and important research published every week. You can search by selecting the professional area you are interested in e.g. nursing or by selecting a topic category. |
 |
NIHR Highlights: Reviews of research in key areas, targeted at practitioners, decision-makers and patients. |
 |
Themed Reviews: In-depth reviews across topic areas, looking at current evidence, research in progress and the implications for practice. You can filter the results by the category of care you are interested in. |
Alternatively, you can search across the whole portal by adding your own search terms. Keep your search simple.
Provides summaries of the latest evidence on drug related interventions. Each intervention is rated on a scale from beneficial to unknown effectiveness.
You can search by entering your own search terms and/or filtering your search under the following categories:
A blog aiming to make evidence from the Cochrane Library more accessible.
You can search using your own search terms by using the green search button or by selecting a category.
The following resources can be used to discover guidance relating to 'Best Practice' when diagnosing and treating health conditions.
They can also be used to find out background information on conditions such as their causes, likely complications and prevalence.
Provides evidence-based answers to real-life clinical questions.
You can search by entering your own search terms or searching by topic, speciality or area of the anatomy
Enter your search term on the Keyword line in the Search Bets section.
Only one search term can be entered. Using truncation * (if relevant) finds more results.
Under the 'Databases' section select Browse all by topic.
Selecting the + sign next to Topic, Speciality or Anatomy will list more categories to choose from.
The MSD Manual provides information and guidance on specific health conditions including information about signs and symptoms, diagnosis, prognosis and prevention.
The manual also includes resources such as case studies, images, quizzes and videos.
There are 3 search options::
Clinical Knowledge Summaries provides concise, accessible summaries of current evidence covering over 350 clinical conditions.
For each topic you select, information is available under the following sections:
Search by entering details of the condition or speciality you are interested in, in the search bar
OR...
Search by selecting a Topic or Speciality:
Provides access to guidance and recommendations from the National Institute for Health and Care Excellence (NICE).
Information available includes:
Here you can find the NMC Code and the standards and guidance which underpin it.
Select the standards you are interested in from the list:
Provides access to the EMCDDA inventory of European and International standards and guidelines.
For both Standards and Guidelines you can filter your search by selecting one or a combination of:
The following databases are different to 'traditional' databases such as Medline as they allow you to search for all types of evidence including summaries of evidence and guidelines, as well as journal articles.
They cover all areas of health.
The following databases are different to 'traditional' databases such as Medline as they allow you to search for all types of evidence including summaries of evidence and guidelines, as well as journal articles.
They cover all areas of health.
The Cochrane Library allows you to search for:
Results will be displayed under the different categories of evidence:
Types of evidence available from Evidence Search includes:
You can filter your results by ticking the box next to the category of evidence you are interested in:
Types of evidence available from TRIP includes:
# Truncation and speech marks cant be used together for the same search term
You can filter your results by selecting the category of evidence you are interested in:
