Welcome to the Health sciences guide. Throughout the guide's sections you'll find our suggestions for key resources and information in this subject area. Note also that you may have access to the NHS Core Collection via NHS OpenAthens; we have further information on our FAQs. For example:
To get you started, here are the key shelfmark areas for your subject. The floor information is for books; print journals will have the same shelfmark but all journals are on the third floor.
| Subject | Shelfmark | Floor |
| Health (general) | R | 2 |
| Human anatomy | QM | 2 |
| Physiology | QP | 2 |
| Psychology | BF | 1 |
| Physiotherapy | RM693 | 2 |
| Occupational therapy | RM735 | 2 |
Our discovery tool, Library Search, will look for books, journal articles and more in one quick easy search - a great place to start your research. The results list also includes full-text links to subscribed content, like articles and textbooks.
To search Library 'Search all' you can use keywords relevant to your topic, author names or the title of the source.
For a more comprehensive search, individual databases offer greater functionality and give full access to a tailored suite of resources for your subject. To find out the database available in your subject, look for your programme in our Subject Guides, or you can view and access all our Databases alphabetically on the Databases A-Z webpage.
Search for books only (does not include all electronic books):
Search for full-text articles:
Academic Liaison Librarians are available between 1pm-4pm, Monday to Friday term-time to discuss queries about using library resources and referencing.
Outside of these times, you can use the Library chat service and your query will be picked up by another member of Brunel Library staff or our friendly co-op support staff, who provide us with 24/7 chat coverage.
Contact library@brunel.ac.uk or lib-academic@brunel.ac.uk and the team will respond to your query.
CASP or PRISMA
If you require help with CASP or PRISMA please refer to Brightspace or speak with your lecturer/supervisor.
Harvard Referencing
Cite them right: Cite them right is an online resource, accessed via the Library, that contains advice on referencing different sources in the Harvard style. You can access this resource via the Library catalogue or search 'Cite them right' in Library Search.