Information sources: Newspapers

Welcome

There are many news databases offered by Brunel University London and external sources. The following broadsheets are made available in our reading area on the ground floor with back copies held for one month except the Financial Times which is held for six months:

  • The Daily Telegraph
  • The Financial Times
  • The Guardian
  • The Independent
  • The Observer
  • The Sunday Times
  • The Times

National news

Loading

Using other libraries

A number of full-text digital news archives can be accessed remotely via registration with local public library services. Commonly, you may register with any borough's public library service regardless of where you live in the UK. Examples in the London area include:

Hillingdon public libraries subscribe to the following full-text news services:

  • The Times Digital Archive 1785-2007
  • UK Newsstand (provides access to local and national news sources; date coverage varies but broadsheets are generally available from the 1990s onwards)

Westminster City Council Libraries subscribe to the following full-text news services:

  • The Economist 1843-2006
  • The Financial Times Historical Archive 1888-2007
  • The Guardian and Observer 1791-2003
  • The Times Digital Archive 1785-2007
  • The Illustrated London News 1842-2003
  • Picture Post 1938-1957
  • Newsbank (archive of national and regional newspapers and magazines)
  • UK Press Online (The Daily Mirror Archive 1903 – current, Daily Express Archive 1900 – current, Sunday Express Archive 2000 – current)
  • Library Press Display (international newspapers with a three month backfile).

The British Library Newspaper Collections

Formerly held in Colindale, North London, the BL newspaper collections have been transferred to Boston Spa, West Yorkshire. However, a 'Newsroom' is now open at the St Pancras site providing microfilm copies of the 15 most highly used newspaper titles which are available on open-access shelves and also includes 40 digital microfilm readers. Print newspapers stored in the National Newspapers Building take 48 hours to arrive at the Newsroom or the Boston Spa Reading Room. Microfilm newspapers are delivered to the Newsroom at St Pancras within 70 minutes of request.  Microfilm is currently not available to order to the Boston Spa Reading Room.  

International news

Loading

Newspaper databases

This guide highlights some specific newspaper database (whether you are on or off-campus you will need to log in with your network username and password). Summon can also be used to search for newspaper articles. If you have problems logging in or searching any of these resources, please ask a member of staff at our Help Desk, or alternatively contact your Subject Liaison Librarian.

The following UK broadsheets (via Nexis) date back as follows:

  • The Guardian from 07/84
  • The Times from 07/85
  • The Financial Times from 01/82
  • The Independent from 09/88

See 'Using Public Libraries' for guidance on accessing UK historical news content dating back through the centuries.