Information sources: Ebooks

Searching for ebooks

More and more of the ebooks you need for learning and research are being made available online. As well as our impressive print collection, we are committed to developing our online ebook library.

The information in this guide will detail our main ebook collections, how to find and use them, and point you towards some of the best places to get hold of free ebooks.

How do I search for ebooks?
If you're looking for a particular ebook, or want to search for ebooks by keyword, the easiest way to start your search is by using the Library search from the homepage:

  • From the Library Homepage, enter your keyword(s) in the 'Search All' box
  • On the results page, select ‘Book/eBook’ under Content Type
  • Select ‘Full Text Online’ under Refine your search

This will refine your search to books available online, ie ebooks

Like journals, ebooks come from many different publishers and the look and functionality can vary from publisher to publisher.

Some of our collections contain general content, often found on reading lists, and other are more subject orientated.

MyiLibrary is by far the biggest, and growing, general collection of ebooks at Brunel Library, with other supplied from Dawsonera and Ebscohost. All titles can be read online, and more and more are being made available to download.

Can I download books?
Sometimes, yes. If, when you open a title, you see a link ‘Add to Bookshelf for Download’, then the title can be downloaded.

Instructions will vary depending on your operating system and what type of device you’re using. For example, using iOS on a tablet:

  • Firstly, you will need an Adobe Digitial Editions account to open downloaded titles, available from: http://www.adobe.com/solutions/ebook/digital-editions.html
  • In MyiLibrary, do your search, then click on ‘Add to Bookshelf for Download’
  • You’ll be prompted to create a MyiLibrary account. Create one.
  • Go to ‘My Account’ / ‘Bookshelf’
  • Your selected title(s) will be waiting to download
  • Choose your ‘Lending Period’, and Download

Downloading the ebook is just like borrowing it. You have the download for a set period of time before it is automatically returned. You don’t have to do anything, and no fine will be incurred.

What if it can’t be downloaded? What are my options?

  • You can read it online, dipping in and out as often as you wish.
  • You can download pages/a chapter, within Copyright Law. Look for the download icon just above the book cover and select your page range. Once downloaded, this download is yours to keep and can be read like a standard PDF.
  • You can print pages/a chapter, within Copyright Law. Look for the print icon just above the book cover and select your page range.

NOTE: if reading online and you are turned away, this means that the maximum number of readers has been reached. Just keep trying until you get back in.

There are over 1,000 ebook titles in the Dawsonera collection covering a wide range of subjects. They can be read online or downloaded for a short loan. Many of them are titles that have been included on reading lists. We recommend that you check if Adobe Reader is set to open content inside the browser so that you can read online. See the Dawsonera help page and LibAnswers for guidance if the ebook does not open correctly. Please note that Dawsonera uses digital rights management (DRM) software: you are advised to ensure you are using at least version 4.0.1 of Adobe Digital Editions when you read an e-book on your computer or portable device..

Loading

Ebook collections

If you'd rather search subject collections, we have collections in the subject areas of: Arts, Business, Computing, Engineering and Maths.

We also have an excellent collection of research methods resources (books and journal articles) in SAGE Research Methods below.

Loading

Free ebooks

Getting help

If you would like to find out more about our ebook collections and how best to use them, drop-in and speak to a Subject Liaison Librarian in the Learning Commons on Floor 1, open:

  • Mon – Thursday, 1pm-6pm, and
  • Friday, 1pm-5pm

Or take a look at our list of Subject guides, available from:
http://www.brunel.ac.uk/services/library/learning/subjects

Tweets from ebooks@brunel