LibGuides: Oil &amp; Gas Engineering: Databases

Useful resources

Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Indexes journals and conference proceedings in the arts and humanities, social sciences, health, sciences and technology disciplines, providing abstracts to the majority, from 1970 to date. This abstract only database is updated weekly. Use Article Linker (AL) to check for full text online sources.
Alternative link (if main link doesn't work)
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Scopus is the largest ever bibliographic database and indexes over 20,000 titles from science, technology, medicine and the social sciences. This abstract only database is updated daily so it is excellent for identifying the emerging research. Use Article Linker (AL - link to full text) to check for full text online sources.
Alternative link (if main link doesn't work)
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Offers access to the Elsevier digital library, covering over 1800 publications. Most are available in full text after 1995. The collection is updated daily.
Alternative link (if main link doesn't work)
ASCE Research Library This link opens in a new window
The ASCE Research Library includes access to all online ASCE Journals (32 journals - 1983 to present). All full-text papers are provided in PDF format, and these may be searched by selecting the "All Digital Journal Papers" option within the search utility. Civil Engineering database subject headings may be searched on the ASCE's Civil Engineering Database.
Alternative link (if main link doesn't work)
IEEE Electronic Library (IEL) This link opens in a new window
Useful for articles/papers around the instrumentation used in the gas and oil industry.
Alternative link (if main link doesn't work)

British Standards Online This link opens in a new window
BSOL provides access to the full text of more than 50,000 British and adopted European and international standards. It is updated daily. Due to changes in security of the BSOL platform fileopen plug in is required to access the PDF content on this platform please see here for instructions. please be aware that any sharing or reproduction of standards with any other body outside Brunel University subscription is prohibited by our terms and conditions.
Alternative link (if main link doesn't work)
NTRL - National Technical Reports Library This link opens in a new window
A database of technical reports from the U.S. Department of Commerce. It contains information regarding technical reports and papers some available as a PDF downloads from 1900 to date.

Brunel University Research Archive (BURA)
See research published by previous Brunel Alumni.
more...less...
BURA contains Brunel University's full-text research publications, subject to copyright permissions. You can search BURA by keyword or browse by research area or collection, eg by individual school or special research institute.

Health and Safety Executive (HSE)
The HSE is the UKs Health and Safety authority offering guidance and support on safe working practices.
GOV.UK - Oil & Gas information
Information published by the UK government on Gas and Oil industries

Official information

Oil and gas: offshore environmental legislation [GOV.UK]
Environmental regulations and guidance on offshore oil and gas exploration and production, offshore gas unloading and storage and offshore carbon dioxide storage activities
Oil and gas: inspection strategy and enforcement activity
Yearly intervention plans are produced for oil and gas operations based on the OPRED inspection strategy. Enforcement activities for the breach of environmental regulations is based on the OPRED enforcement policy.
Oil and gas: environmental policy
Information and minutes for OSPAR, REACH and research groups and forums for offshore oil and gas.

Tips for searching

Finding too much?

If you are finding too much, try adding a few more keywords or restricting your database searches to particular fields, such as the "title" field. Authors of papers will put important words in the title of their papers, so if the word is in the title, the paper will be more relevant to you.

Or try and narrow your date range, and restrict your search to say the last 5- or 10-years?

Finding too little?

Try expanding your search by using the "OR" operator and add some synonyms for example:

"nondestructive" AND (testing OR evaluation)

Not finding what you need?

Try a different database - The Library subscribes to several databases, and some will be more geared towards engineering topics than others.

Need some help?

Then come and talk to me and we can find the right sources to search to find the information you need. Ways to contact me are available via my LibGuide profile page.