LibGuides: Aerospace Engineering: Databases

Databases

Aerospace Research Central This link opens in a new window
ARC is the database for finding papers and reports published by the American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics (AIAA).
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Indexes journals and conference proceedings in the arts and humanities, social sciences, health, sciences and technology disciplines, providing abstracts to the majority, from 1970 to date. This abstract only database is updated weekly. Use Article Linker (AL) to check for full text online sources.
Alternative link (if main link doesn't work)
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Scopus is the largest ever bibliographic database and indexes over 20,000 titles from science, technology, medicine and the social sciences. This abstract only database is updated daily so it is excellent for identifying the emerging research. Use Article Linker (AL - link to full text) to check for full text online sources.
Alternative link (if main link doesn't work)

ASME Digital Collection This link opens in a new window
The ASME Digital Collection is the repository of current and archival literature featuring: ASME's Transaction Journals from 2000 to the present and Conference Proceedings from 2002 to the present.
Alternative link (if main link doesn't work)
Institution of Mechanical Engineers (IMechE) Journals Collection This link opens in a new window
Provides access to the full text of 18 IMechE journals, from 1847 to date, now published by SAGE, covering all aspects of mechanical engineering from 1847 to the present day. Each of the other 18 journals, including the 16 proceedings of the IMechE, is focused on particular area of engineering to offer a greater depth of coverage in mechanical engineering.
Alternative link (if main link doesn't work)
Aerospace Research Central This link opens in a new window
ARC is the database for finding papers and reports published by the American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics (AIAA). While we don't subscribe to all the content in this database, you can request items via our inter-library loans services.
SAE Journals and Technical Papers This link opens in a new window
Provides access to more than 5,900 journal articles and 77,000 technical papers from 1998 onwards published by the Society of Automotive Engineers on the new SAE MOBILUS database. The new database references thousands of papers covering the latest advances and research in all areas of mobility engineering including ground vehicle, aerospace, off-highway, and manufacturing technology.

Please note that some items on SAE Mobilus database are not included on our subscription. To check for full text access, use the filters on SAE Mobilus labelled: "My Access" and "Full Text Content". Only abstracts are available for the non-subscribed content such as papers published by external institutions or for SAE articles published prior to our subscribed years (1998 onwards). If such a paper is not available from an alternative source then it may be obtained from the Inter-Library Loan Service. See also the SAE MOBILUS guide to learn more.
Alternative link (if main link doesn't work)
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Offers access to the Elsevier digital library, covering over 1800 publications. Most are available in full text after 1995. The collection is updated daily.
Alternative link (if main link doesn't work)
IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new window
Provides access to all IEEE (Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers) transactions, journals, magazines and conference proceedings published since 1988, plus IEEE standards. Includes access to more than 1,200 e-books published by Wiley-IEEE and more than 690 e-books in the MIT Press eBooks Library Computing and Engineering Collection. If you are unable to open IEEE Xplore with the link above, try the IEEE Xplore mirror site.
Alternative link (if main link doesn't work)

The American national laboratories (for example Sandia National Labs) carry out a variety of research for the US Government which as it's funded by the government is made available to the public. There are lots of reports that are relevant to aerospace engineering.

NASA Technical Report Server This link opens in a new window
The NASA STI Repository (also known as the NASA Technical Reports Server (NTRS)) provides access to NASA metadata records, full-text online documents, images, and videos. The types of information included are conference papers, journal articles, meeting papers, patents, research reports, images, movies, and technical videos – scientific and technical information (STI) created or funded by NASA.
NTRL - National Technical Reports Library This link opens in a new window
A database of technical reports from the U.S. Department of Commerce. It contains information regarding technical reports and papers some available as a PDF downloads from 1900 to date.
OSTI - Office of Scientific and Technical Information This link opens in a new window
This database contains technical reports from the U.S. Department of Energy's national laboratories and facilities and at universities and other institutions nationwide. Subject coverage will be useful for those in Engineering disciplines.
SAE Journals and Technical Papers This link opens in a new window
Provides access to more than 5,900 journal articles and 77,000 technical papers from 1998 onwards published by the Society of Automotive Engineers on the new SAE MOBILUS database. The new database references thousands of papers covering the latest advances and research in all areas of mobility engineering including ground vehicle, aerospace, off-highway, and manufacturing technology.

Please note that some items on SAE Mobilus database are not included on our subscription. To check for full text access, use the filters on SAE Mobilus labelled: "My Access" and "Full Text Content". Only abstracts are available for the non-subscribed content such as papers published by external institutions or for SAE articles published prior to our subscribed years (1998 onwards). If such a paper is not available from an alternative source then it may be obtained from the Inter-Library Loan Service. See also the SAE MOBILUS guide to learn more.
Alternative link (if main link doesn't work)

Standards are the backbone for aerospace engineering - not least because of the amount of collaboration that goes on in the industry.

British Standards Online This link opens in a new window
BSOL provides access to the full text of more than 50,000 British and adopted European and international standards. It is updated daily. Due to changes in security of the BSOL platform fileopen plug in is required to access the PDF content on this platform please see here for instructions. please be aware that any sharing or reproduction of standards with any other body outside Brunel University subscription is prohibited by our terms and conditions.
Alternative link (if main link doesn't work)
IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new window
IEEE are a professional body who also publish a wealth of standards on electrical systems for use in the aerospace industry
Alternative link (if main link doesn't work)
SAE Aerospace Standards This link opens in a new window
While the Society of Automobile Engineers has its roots in automobiles it has expanded and covers various forms of transport now - including aerospace. The Library does not subscribe to the SAE standards - but it's good to know such standards exist for your future career.