Additional Library e-resources for remote study: Overview

A-Z of resources with temporary access for remote study

The Library often makes available resources on a temporary basis in order to trial and evaluate them. Many publishers and suppliers of online resources have responded to the current COVID-19 situation by making additional resources available to help support you at this time. We will list as many as we can here, and several are already searchable using the usual library search. Please contact your Academic Liaison Librarian for more details.

Please get in touch with your Academic Liaison Librarian if you have feedback on these resources or would like the Library to consider these items for the long-term. 

A-Z of resources with temporary access
Name of resource Description Trial dates
Annual Reviews Annual Reviews has a collection of free COVID-19 articles available to all. Until further notice
ARTSTOR ITHAKA has kindly provided free access to ARTSTOR - its complete image resource covering a wide array of subjects with the breadth and depth to add context beyond the confines of your discipline. See Artstor Access during Coronavirus (COVID-19) for more details. Until 31/12/2020
Bloomberg Market Concepts (BMC) Bloomberg Market Concepts is an e-learning programme with certification which helps you learn to use the database Bloomberg through an exploration of financial market concepts. Free access to the BMC is normally only available on the Bloomberg computers in the Library, but the programme is temporarily accessible to Brunel students and staff online. More information on the Data and Statistics Library Guide. Not applicable
British Library Newspapers Gale NewsVault has enabled the cross-searching of the majority of the British Library's collections of historical newspapers published between 1732 to 1950. Until 16/11/2020
Eikon & Datastream for Office Eikon provides access to company, economic and financial data from around the world, over many years. Datastream, previously only available on computers in the Library, is now available via the Eikon on the Refinitiv Workspace For Students app. We have upgraded the number of full licences to Datastream to allow a whole class to access it concurrently to provide you with flexible access to the data without your having to be on campus during this indefinite period of social distancing. We have also added five concurrent licences to Eikon with Datastream for Office for use on campus when we re-open. Details for full access to this resource will be updated on the Data and Statistics library guide shortly. Please remember to sign out after your session using the button top left! N.B. Eikon has an app to keep track of the key market moving headlines as well as the charts, data and market impact analysis, sectors and commodities asset classes. You may also access an RSS feed of the market information relating to the Covid-19 pandemic.. Please contact your Academic Liaison Librarian for further support. Until further notice
Emerald Emerald Publishing has made freely available all its resources related to the management of epidemics and the coronavirus group of viruses. In addition, ebooks currently available via the Library as limited users licenses will temporarily have unlimited user access. Until further notice
JoVE The science community is working hard to address the potential health crisis brought about by the outbreak of a novel coronavirus (COVID-19). To support these critical efforts, JoVE (Journal of Visual Experiments) has made freely available some resources related to the COVID-19 and science education. Until further notice
JSTOR Expanded Access JSTOR has kindly opened up expanded access to the remaining, unsubscribed collections, to 26 journal archives in Public Health, as well as JSTOR Archive and Primary Source collections to support institutions with their research and teaching. Until 31/12/2020
Internet Archive Worldwide access to publishers' content preserved by the Internet Archive on the National Emergency Library, including scholarly books from many University Presses. Please see the National Emergency Library's FAQs for details. Until further notice
Pearson

Pearson are giving free access to their core range of HE online resources across a range of disciplines, alongside English language online courseware to all UK and Irish universities. In addition, there are some options for trialing free access to ebooks available via aggregator suppliers. Please speak to your Academic Liaison Librarian to explore this. 

Until further notice
ProQuest Coronavirus Research Database‎ Temporary access to a collection of articles on Covid-19. Until further notice
The Royal Society The Royal Society has kindly extended free access to its content freely available, including all journals and the picture library. Until further notice
Wiley

Free online access to a collection of more than 5,000 relevant journal articles, book chapters and entries in Wiley's major reference works. Access to research collections and information related to COVID-19.   In addition, materials on historical perspectives on epidemics, methods used to control their spread, and associated health policies, see: Europe, 1817 or UK, 1854 or Hastings, 1873 or Sydney, 1895.

Until further notice

Temporary resources by College

 

•   ARTSTOR

 ITHAKA has kindly provided access to ARTSTOR - its complete image resource covering a wide array of subjects with the breadth and depth to     add context beyond the confines of your discipline. Artstor Access during Coronavirus (COVID-19) - freely available to libraries until 31/12/2020.

 

Support during Coronavirus outbreak

Your Academic Liaison Librarian will still be available to support you online. You can get help with:

  • Finding and using Library resources
  • Literature searching
  • Referencing and referencing software
  • Troubleshooting access to resources
  • Finding data

Please feel free to get in touch by email or LibChat. We can also arrange online consultations. 

Or you can take a look at one of our online guides include our Library Guides or Library webpages

You can also look on our Library webpages to get updated information on the Library opening hours and borrowing during this period. 

Search Library resources

Our discovery tool will look for books, journal articles and more in one quick easy search - a great place to start your research. For a more comprehensive search, individual databases offer greater functionality and give full access to a tailored suite of resources for your subject.

Search for books, articles, and electronic resources:

Search for books only (does not include all electronic books):

Search for full-text articles:

Search or browse for journals/periodicals:

Journal title begins with


Browse periodicals by subject


Browse periodical titles

0-9 A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z Other

Library systems status