LibGuides: Business and management: Databases

Recommended databases

Business Source Premier is the database we recommend using first when researching in business and management subject areas as, with the combination of many full text journals and bibliographic details of other journals, it covers most important journals within this subject area.

For an overview and background of many business and management topics, with references to other relevant sources, search in the Oxford Handbooks Online: Business and Management Collection

Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window
Contains full text articles from over 2,300 journals covering all business disciplines. Also provides access to market research reports country reports, industry reports, company profiles and SWOT analyses on the Business Searching Interface.
Alternative link (if main link doesn't work)
Emerald Ejournals This link opens in a new window
Emerald journals provides access to articles from six major collections: Accounting, Finance & Economics, Business Management & Strategy, Human Resources, Learning & Organization Studies, Information & Knowledge Management, Marketing and Operations Logistics & Quality. It also contains content relevant to Engineering.
Alternative link (if main link doesn't work)
Nexis This link opens in a new window
Nexis Advance UK provides access to full text access to regional, national and international newspapers, business trade journals, company reports and country reports. (The New platform for Nexis UK was launched on 5 September 2019. This database was previously called LexisNexis Business & News).
Alternative link (if main link doesn't work)
Henry Stewart Talks This link opens in a new window
Henry Stewart Talks (HSTalks) provides access to a collection of specially prepared, animated, online audio-visual lectures and seminars on business and management.
A lternative link (if main link does not work)

SAGE Research Methods This link opens in a new window
SAGE Research Methods is a research methods tool created to help researchers, faculty and students with their research projects. It provides access to over 175,000 pages of SAGE’s book, journal and reference content with advanced search and discovery tools. Since SAGE Research Methods focuses on methodology rather than disciplines, it can be used across the social sciences, health sciences, and beyond. For guidance see SAGE's: LibGuide and methods map.
Alternative link (if the link above does not work).
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Contains full text articles from over 5,000 journals, covering many subjects, including anthropology, politics, political science, psychology, psychiatry, sociology and social work.
Alternative link (if main link doesn't work)
SAGE Journals This link opens in a new window
Access to over 220 e-journals published in collections by Sage, with up to 59 years of backfiles where available. Access to more than 700 other journals from 1999 onwards for the titles not included in the collections. A multidisciplinary database, with particular emphasis on the social sciences.
Alternative link (if main link doesn't work)
SAGE Knowledge: Business and Management Collection This link opens in a new window
SAGE Knowledge is an e-book platform where you will find a range of SAGE e-book and e-reference content including encyclopaedias, handbooks and major works which, as part of SAGE Navigator, show the key readings in a research field over decades. Access is provided to a selection of the business and management collection, totalling 480 e-books.
Alternative link (if main link doesn't work)
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Offers access to the Elsevier digital library, covering over 1800 publications. Most are available in full text after 1995. The collection is updated daily.
Alternative link (if main link doesn't work)
Springer Link This link opens in a new window
Full text of more than 1250 journals published by Springer-Verlag. Access includes most of the Springer Journal Archives up to 1996, and many current titles but, please note, more than 600 titles are excluded from our Springer journals package - these are indicated by a padlock symbol. Springer Link also provides access to Lecture Notes in Computer Science, and Lecture Notes in Mathematics; and Springer Protocols (up to 2012 only, see description below) but not to any other e-book series (although we do hold some Springer books in the Library and some e-books on Ebook Central - these may be found on the Library catalogue).
Alternative link (if main link does not work)
Bloomsbury Fashion Central This link opens in a new window
Berg Fashion Library
Berg Fashion Library provides access to a diversity of resources including Berg encyclopaedia of world dresses, reference works, e-books, images, as well as museum directory and exhibition archives.
Bloomsbury Fashion Business Cases
Access to real-world cases on challenges facing the fashion business, such as sustainability, technology, ethics and leadership.
informs PubS Online This link opens in a new window
A collection containing all publications from INFORMS, which specialises in Operations Research and Analytics. It includes peer reviewed journals (many highly ranked) and magazines containing article on topics including operations research, analytics, management science, economics, behavioural science, statistics, artificial intelligence, data science and applied mathematics. Also available is the TutORials in OR book series.

Use abstract databases Scopus and Web of Knowledge to search within quality journals across many subject areas. This means that you may find relevant articles in journals in different subject areas.

These databases show references and citations for each article, meaning that you can follow a chain of research forward and backwards in time, finding other relevant articles and identifying highly cited articles.

Scopus This link opens in a new window
Scopus is the largest ever bibliographic database and indexes over 20,000 titles from science, technology, medicine and the social sciences. This abstract only database is updated daily so it is excellent for identifying the emerging research. Use Article Linker (AL - link to full text) to check for full text online sources.
Alternative link (if main link doesn't work)
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Indexes journals and conference proceedings in the arts and humanities, social sciences, health, sciences and technology disciplines, providing abstracts to the majority, from 1970 to date. This abstract only database is updated weekly. Use Article Linker (AL) to check for full text online sources.
Alternative link (if main link doesn't work)

Nexis is our newspaper database. It can be used for searching with local, national and international newspapers and magazines. However access to the Financial Times in Nexis is limited and you should therefore use FT.com.

Nexis This link opens in a new window
Nexis Advance UK provides access to full text access to regional, national and international newspapers, business trade journals, company reports and country reports. (The New platform for Nexis UK was launched on 5 September 2019. This database was previously called LexisNexis Business & News).
Alternative link (if main link doesn't work)
FT.com: Financial Times This link opens in a new window
Note: first time users should follow this special FT registration link - use your Brunel University email address to create a unique username and password. The Financial Times is one of the world’s leading business news and information organisations. FT.com is an essential source of news and comment, both text and video, data analysis and research tools. It supports a range of disciplines from accounting and international relations to economics and management. The ePaper archive goes back to 28 November, 2005.

Henry Stewart Talks This link opens in a new window
Henry Stewart Talks (HSTalks) provides access to a collection of specially prepared, animated, online audio-visual lectures and seminars on business and management.
A lternative link (if main link does not work)
Learning on Screen This link opens in a new window
Learning on Screen is a charity whose aim is to make moving image and sound as important in education and research as the written word. This link provides information about their services, including BoB (Box of Broadcasts). The University subscribes to Box of Broadcasts (BoB), a service which works alongside our ERA Licence and allows staff and students to record and access broadcasts, even after they have aired, under the licence terms. Search for Brunel as your home institution. You may need to register and confirm your Brunel email address when you first access the new site. For service issues see the current service status webpage.
Alternative link (if main link doesn't work)
FT.com: Financial Times This link opens in a new window
Note: first time users should follow this special FT registration link - use your Brunel University email address to create a unique username and password. The Financial Times is one of the world’s leading business news and information organisations. FT.com is an essential source of news and comment, both text and video, data analysis and research tools. It supports a range of disciplines from accounting and international relations to economics and management. The ePaper archive goes back to 28 November, 2005.

Database search tips

Split your topic into keywords: To find better and fewer results, think about your keywords. Make sure they accurately describe what you are looking for, and add more keywords to make your search more specific.

Think of alternative keywords: For example, 'young' could also be referred to as 'youth' or 'adolescent'. Or, think of the bigger picture. For example, instead of searching for 'boys' or 'girls', try searching for 'gender'.

Search for phrases in "double quotation marks": For example, "special educational needs". This will search for the phrase as a whole, instead of the individual words.

Select a data range: For example, you may only want literature published since 2010. Most databases have the option to select dates.

For more help see our Finding resources guide, or contact your Librarian.

Finding resources guide

Business databases and journals on Twitter

Library service status

Current status of Library services

You can check the current status of services managed by Brunel Library below. To view the status of services managed by the Computer Centre, please visit their service status page.