Special Collections: English

English resources in Special Collections

Special Collections is home to an array of literature resources. They are outlined in this guide.

English resources on the Special Collections blog

Loading

Bill Griffiths

Bill Griffiths (1948 – 2007) was a poet, scholar, small press publisher, local historian, archivist and scholar of English dialect. His collections held at Brunel include published and unpublished work, correspondence and research notes. Further information about the Bill Griffiths collection.

Rare books and periodicals

As well as some rare books, we have runs of nineteenth and early twentieth century periodicals, including Nineteenth Century, the Ladies Home Journal, All the year round, Illustrated London News and the London mercury. These are a fascinating source both for articles, advertising and printing history.

Further information about the rare books and periodicals collection.

Burnett Archive of Working-class autobiographies

 A great resource for literature and creative writing, the Burnett Archive includes around 360 autobiographies whose writers were working-class for at least part of their lives. They wrote in English and lived in England, Scotland or Wales between 1790 and 1945.

Further information about the Burnett Archive.

Shakespeare Collections

These collections are relevant to all those interested in Shakespeare and his time. Materials include books, plays, poetry, journals and ephemera.

Further information about the Shakespearean collections.