Referencing: Write-N-Cite

Which Write-N-Cite version?

The latest version is Write-N-Cite 4 which acts as an add-in to Word. This can be used on our Windows 10 networked PCs (users of Windows 7 networked PCs may need to contact the department's computing officer to install the add-in). You can download it to your own PC or laptop (there is a version for Apple users), see the box to the right.

We would recommend using Write-N-Cite 4 as it has much better functionality than Write-N-Cite III. You can select Write-N-Cite III to be consistent with the networked PCs, but it will not work if you use Kaspersky for your security.

Using Write-N-Cite 4

Write-N-Cite 4 is an add-in in Microsoft Word. The RefWorks tab is added at the right hand end of the tabs.

When you select this tab, log in using your RefWorks Group Code, username and password. Word will then synchronise data with your RefWorks account and you can start using it.

When you have logged in using your RefWorks credential, the icons will colour in.

First select your output style in the drop-down: you will need to choose "select other styles" and then pick the appropriate style, eg "Harvard (Brunel University 2013/14)".

To insert a new citation:

  • Insert citation;
  • Insert New;
  • Type author or keyword in search box and press return;
  • From the matching references select the one you want;
  • The preview citation box will show the citation as it will appear;
  • If necessary choose Hide author;
  • If necessary put page numbers in Suffix box;
  • Select OK.

First place your cursor where you wish your bibliography to appear. In the RefWorks tab:

  • Ensure the Output style is correct - eg Harvard (Brunel University 2013/14);
  • Select Bibliography and Insert bibliography.

Your bibliography will be created in the correct order.

Once this bibliography has been created, each citation you add to the text will automatically have its reference inserted in the correct place in the bibliography.

Loading ...

Using Write-N-Cite III

  • Go to the Windows Start button;
  • In the search box type Write-N-Cite;
  • Select the icon;
  • When the login screen appears log in using your RefWorks username/password;
  • Cross to Word and open up the file you want to use.

If you use the author's name in the text (eg "Ragland says that...") you do not repeat the author's name in the citation. In Write-N-Cite:

  • Select "cite" against the reference you want;
  • Go to the "Edit citation" link in the right hand corner;
  • In the boxes that appear tick the box labelled "Suppress authors";
  • Then save to Word.

To put in the page number for a quote (eg "(Ragland, 2003 p. 43)"), in Write-N-Cite:

  • Select "cite" against the reference you want;
  • Go to the "Edit citation" link in the right hand corner;
  • In the boxes that appear type the page number in the box labelled "Text after";
  • Then save to Word.

This process will both format the citations and generate the bibliography. In RefWorks:

  • Select the "Bibliography" icon;
  • Ensure the "Output style" selection is correct, eg Harvard (Brunel University 2013/14);
  • Click on the box "Bibliography".

Your in-text citations will be formatted, including any page numbers, and the bibliography will be created in the correct order.

Loading ...

Downloading Write-N-Cite

On your own devices:

  • Select Tools on the RefWorks toolbar and select Write-N-Cite from the drop down list.
  • Select the version you wish to download (see "Which Write-N-Cite?" section).
  • Follow the instructions to download Write-N-Cite.

Write-N-Cite III on networked PCs

Write-N-Cite III is already installed on networked PCs. You cannot download Write-N-Cite on these PCs.

Write-N-Cite III works differently from Write-N-Cite 4. It is opened from your "Start" button or desktop and will then open Word. Tthen you can open the Word document you want to edit.