Welcome to the English and Creative Writing guide. Throughout the guide's sections you'll find our suggestions for key resources and information in this subject area.
I can offer help with finding and searching for literature, referencing and more... Use the tabs to navigate.
You may also find it useful to browse the resources for the following:
To get you started, here are the key shelfmark areas for your subject. The floor information is for books; print journals will have the same shelfmark but all journals are on the third floor.
| Subject | Shelfmark | Floor |
| American literature | PS | 2 |
| Classical language and literature | PA227-8595 | 2 |
| Drama | PN1600-3307 | 2 |
| English language | PE | 2 |
| English literature | PR | 2 |
| Literary criticism | PN80-99 | 2 |
| Poetry | PN1010-1551 | 2 |
Our discovery tool, Library Search, will look for books, journal articles and more in one quick easy search - a great place to start your research. The results list also includes full-text links to subscribed content, like articles and textbooks.
To search Library 'Search all' you can use keywords relevant to your topic, author names or the title of the source.
For a more comprehensive search, individual databases offer greater functionality and give full access to a tailored suite of resources for your subject. To find out the database available in your subject, look for your programme in our Subject Guides, or you can view and access all our Databases alphabetically on the Databases A-Z webpage.
Search for books only (does not include all electronic books):
Search for full-text articles:
Contact Matthew
Hello! My name is Matthew Parfitt (He/Him/His) and I'm the Academic Liaison Librarian responsible for Arts and Humanities (English, Creative Writing, Film Studies, Music, Theatre, Games Design) and Education.
I'm here to help you get the most out of the library and its resources, as well as to support you with the research, evaluation, and referencing skills you need to succeed in your studies.
If you need help finding literature, evaluating sources, using the web for research, reading lists, Harvard referencing, or have any questions about the library, then please get in touch.
Academic Liaison Librarians are available between 1pm-4pm, Monday to Friday term-time to discuss queries about using library resources and referencing.
Outside of these times, you can use the Library chat service and your query will be picked up by another member of Brunel Library staff or our friendly co-op support staff, who provide us with 24/7 chat coverage.